LibGuides: ICPSR: Home

ICPSR

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

ICPSR collaborates with a number of funders, including U.S. statistical agencies and foundations, to create thematic data collections and data stewardship and research projects.

ICPSR Database A data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Note: To download data files you must create a free user account while on campus or logged in via the USU VPN. Click here for account creation instructions.
ICPSR supports research in sociology, economics, political science, population studies, criminal justice, health care, education and more. Includes data sets from privately and publicly funded research, governmental and non-governmental agencies, opinion polls and other studies. As institutional members of ICPSR, USU faculty and students may use the archive of social science data. To download data, users need to create their own account to login. Once downloaded data can be analyzed with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.

Using ICPSR

ICPSR offers a multitude of tools and resources to users. Explore some of what they offer below. To get the full benefit of ICPSR, you will need to create a MyData account.