Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alumni Using USU Libraries: Home

This guide explains how alumni can use the USU libraries, and provides information on how to find freely available information without institutional access.

Alumni Access

Why & When Do I Lose Access?

We wish you didn’t lose access to the amazing resources available to you as a USU student once you leave Utah State. Unfortunately, due to licensing agreements, we don’t have the flexibility to offer off-campus access for electronic resources to alumni. You will have access to the databases 21 days after the last day of the semester. After the 21 days, you will only be able to access the databases while in the library. 

Tip:

How can I use the library during my grace semester?

If you are a graduate student who has completed course work but is still doing research and needs access to the library during your grace semester, please make sure you are registered for USU 7777. Registering for USU 7777 allows you to access library resources while you finish up your research without being charged for the course. 

How can USU Alumni use the USU Libraries? 

Just because you’re leaving the university doesn’t mean you can’t use many of the resources provided by USU Libraries. If you visit the on-campus libraries, you can access almost all of our electronic resources while on campus, including: 

  • E-journals 
  • E-books 
  • Article databases 

You can access any of the 250 databases and 40,000 electronic journals from one of several public terminals on the first floor of the Merrill-Cazier Library, near the Information desk. 

You can also check out any circulating print books or other materials. There is no cost for alumni to check out print materials, and you can check out 10 items at a time for three weeks. Alumni cards are available at the Alumni office (David B. Haight Alumni Center) in Logan. 

Find Free & Open Information

Search a Broad Database

These scholarly indexes cover many subjects and will link to a free version of a source if available.

Find a Specialized Research Tool

If you're researching within a discipline (education, biology, public policy, etc.) or looking for a specific type of material (e-books, videos, dissertations, etc.), your best bet might be a resource dedicated to that.

Access Materials You Find Online

Using one of these browser-based tools, you may be able to get access to an article that you would otherwise have to pay for.

If you find an article and can’t get access to it online, try an InterLibrary Loan request through your local public library (see below) or contact the authors directly. Sometimes you can get a copy of a needed article if you email the authors.

Public Library Resources

Many public libraries subscribe to research databases which can either be accessed at the library or remotely, but may require a library card. Some public libraries may also participate in InterLibrary Loan so their patrons can access resources not owned by the library. Please visit your public library's website to discover available research databases and resources. 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Library Help
Contact:
library.help@usu.edu
Information Desk: (435) 797-2678
Circulation Desk: (435) 797-2601
Subjects: Research Tips