Human Relations Area Files
Human Relations Area Files - World Cultures (eHRAF World Cultures for short) is an online database that contains books, monographs, journal articles, dissertations and manuscripts on present and past aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF - World Cultures is organized by cultures and/or traditions. eHRAF is used to learn about anthropological concepts, to concentrate closely on one or more ethnic groups or regions of the world, and to conduct cross-cultural investigations for comparative research.
eHRAF can be difficult to search. Click the blue arrow icon after the database description to access a step-by-step tutorial, or ask your librarian for help.
- eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files)
This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to currently produced annual installments from Human Relations Area Files, Inc.
Articles
- Anthropological LiteratureProvides citations and links to journal articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.
- AnthroSourceDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Tip:
Need the PDF?
Click the Article Linker icon to get to full text through our library subscriptions. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
The following databases are helpful for all research topics in Anthropology. For more specialized database recommendations, see the main Anthropology research guide.
Newspapers
- ProQuest Newsstand (Global Newsstream)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to US and international news sources. Includes coverage of The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. - Ethnic NewsWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic, minority, and native presses featuring a rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, and reviews to provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Dictionaries & EncyclopediasGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Streaming Video
- Ethnographic Video OnlineClassic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. The collection also includes a wide range of indigenous media.
- EVIA Digital Archive ProjectA digital archive of ethnographic field video, including music and dance.
- Alexander Street Academic Video OnlineProvides access to more than 64,000 streaming video titles, including films and documentaries; all may be browsed and viewed by USU students, staff, and faculty. Subject areas include anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. This collection includes a variety of content types such as documentaries, films, clips, archives, news, TV programs, training, lectures, interviews, ethnographies, performances, and demonstrations.
Library Help
