Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Resources for Anthropology Research
Provides citations and links to journal articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Need strategies for reading academic journal articles?
Use this reading guide from the library to help you understand the major sections of academic articles and develop strategies for quickly understanding them.
Finding Work by Underrepresented Scholars
Why Citations Matter
Places to Search
- Use Google Scholar's "cited by" tool to find additional references building off a core text like Decolonizing Methodologies or a foundational author like bell hooks.
- Find out where scholars in your area of research share ideas less formally, and search for blogs and social media to identify conversations happening outside of traditional (more exclusionary) scholarly communication.
- Explore professional association conference programs, committee lists, and membership rosters to identify scholars and their interests.
- Read author information in database records and journal articles, go outside the source. Search for university profile pages, blogs, social media, and other online projects.
- Change the order of your search results in databases and search engines to see beyond algorithmic bias ("relevance" is often the default setting for displaying search results).Go beyond Google (or whatever your default search engine is) to surface content that may be new to you and/or not included in research databases.
- Consider geography/location in your searching.
- Explore new sources of news. For example, Ethnic News Watch can be used to find publications featuring indigenous voices.
- Talk with your professors about how they diversify their reading and reference lists, and who they think are exciting new voices in the field.