Bureau of Indian Affairs: Research Methods

The Government Publishing Office (GPO) distributes documents in a variety of ways. USU has collected Bureau of Indian Affairs documents in the following formats.

• Print Sources
• Microfiche
• Online (digitized print material)

Most print materials are part of the circulating collection and can be checked out at the Circulation Desk. 

• Visit the Collection
  • The collection is fully cataloged. You can browse a full list of the materials in the library catalog. 
• Contact the Gov Info Librarian
  • Jen Kirk, jen.kirk@usu.edu

Here are additional resources that were referenced during the creation of this guide. The sections correspond to the pages of the LibGuide and can provide more in-depth information about the topics discussed in each section.

Collection Information

• Department of Justice: About Native Americans
• Federally Recognized Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans
• Federal Register: Indian Entities Recognized by and Eligible to Receive Services From the U.S. BIA
• Office of Federal Acknowledgement

History

• "Active Harm"
  • Materials and Methods in Native American and Indigenous Studies: Completing the Turn
  • Native American Rights Fund: Frequently Asked Questions
  • National Congress on American Indians: Ending the Era of Harmful "Indian" Mascots
• Indian Boarding Schools
  • National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition: US Boarding School History
  • Northern Plains Reservation Aid: History and Culture Boarding Schools
  • Secretary Haaland Announces Federal Indian Boarding School Initiative
  • Department of the Interior Releases Investigative Report, Outlines Next Steps in Federal Indian Boarding School Initiatives
  • Traumatic Legacy of Indian Boarding Schools: Death by Civilization
• Intermountain Indian School
  • Some Lost Their Lives, Some Found Their Lives': Remembering The Intermountain Indian School
  • 50 years ago: Council shocked at conditions at Intermountain
• Indian Placement Program 
  • Why Several Native Americans Are Suing the Mormon Church
  • Church won't apologize for taking Indian children from their homes
  • How Mormons Assimilated Native Children
• Indian Child Welfare Act
  • Public Law 95-608 Nov 8, 1978
  • What Happens if the Indian Child Welfare Act is Overturned?
  • The Indian Child Welfare Act: What it is and what’s at stake
  • Order in the Court: Native community talks potential overturn of Indian Child Welfare Act
• BIA Accountability
  • "Never Again": Kevin Gover's Apology for the Bureau of Indian Affairs
• Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women
  • MMIW USA
  • Native Women's Wilderness
  • Native Hope: MMIW
  • BIA: Missing and Murdered Indigenous People Crisis
• Forced Sterilization
  • The Native American Women Who Fought Mass Sterilization
  • Forced and coerced sterilization of Indigenous women
  • Native American Women and Coerced Sterilization: On the Trail of Tears in the 1970s
  • The Little-Known History of the Forced Sterilization of Native American Women
  • Native Americans, government authorities, and reproductive politics
• Family Planning Services and Population Research Act of 1970
  • Title X Family Planning Program (1970–1977)
  • Past and Current United States Policies of Forced Sterilization
• Violent Crimes
  • VIOLENCE AGAINST AMERICAN INDIAN AND ALASKA NATIVE WOMEN AND MEN
  • Ending Violence Against Native Women
  • Native American women face an epidemic of violence. A legal loophole prevents prosecutions.
  • Native Women Face the Highest Rates of Stalking, and it Leads to ‘Missing and Murdered’
• Savanna's Act
  • Savanna's Act: Fact Sheet
  • Savanna's Act Addresses Alarming Number Of Missing Or Killed Native Women
• BIA Accountability
  • BIA: What is the Not Invisible Act Commission?
  • Share Secretary Haaland Creates New Missing & Murdered Unit to Pursue Justice for Missing or Murdered American Indians and Alaska Natives
  • ‘Suddenly I’m breathing’: hope as Haaland takes on crisis of missing and murdered Native Americans

Language and Terminology

• National Museum of the American Indian: Appropriate Terminology
• What We Want to Be Called: Indigenous Peoples' Perspectives on Racial and Ethnic Identity Labels
• National Congress of American Indians: Tribal Organizations
• Legal Information Institute: American Indian Law
• Code of Federal Regulation: Part 83 - Procedures for Federal Acknowledgement of Indian Tribes
• Indian Health Service: Navajo Nation
  • Navajo Nation Council rejects bill to change tribe's name to 'Dine Nation'
  • Navajo People: The Diné
  • Navajo Nation: Department of Diné Education
• Red Cloud Indian School: The Lakota Today
  • Standing Rock Sioux Tribe: History
  • Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe: History

Aggies Think, Care, Act

"Aggies Think, Care Act is a campus-wide initiative to foster a caring community that elevates the academic experience for all Aggies and prepares students to become global citizens and leaders. Aggies Think, Care, Act embraces civic responsibility, respect for diversity, and human dignity. We challenge all Aggies to acknowledge and act upon these principles." 

USU Office of Equity

"Utah State University believes in fostering respect and dignity for all members of the USU community. University policy prohibits discrimination and harassment including sexual misconduct... The Office of Equity is the unit designated by the University to enforce state and federal law (including Title IX) and University policies related to sexual misconduct, discrimination, equal opportunity, and affirmative action."

USU Inclusion Center

"Our students, staff, faculty, and alumni embrace, support, and advocate for every member of our Aggie family. The USU Inclusion Center creates and environment of acceptance, respect, and empowerment." 

USU Native American Student Council 

"The Native American Student Council (NASC) is an organization that represents Native American Students at Utah State University. NASC creates a community on campus for Native American Students and an inclusive environment for Non-Native students to experience authentic Native culture and norms."

USU Center for Intersectional Gender Studies and Research

"The Center for Intersectional Gender Studies and Research builds on the long and successful history of women and gender programs at USU...We provide a broad range of support to faculty and students who are interested in issues of gender and intersectionality, especially as they relate to... race, ethnicity and Indigenous studies; sexuality and the body; global and transnational issues, and; science, technology and the environment."

Nicole Hurst has undergraduate degrees in English, with an emphasis in Technical Communications and Rhetoric, and Economics from Utah State University. During her time at USU, she was a student staff member of the Government Information Collection, part of Special Collections & Archives at the Merrill-Cazier Library. 

Vanessa Garcia Vazquez has undergraduate degrees in English, with an emphasis in Technical Communications and Rhetoric, and Criminal Justice from Utah State University. During her time at USU, she was a student staff member of the Government Information Collection, part of Special Collections & Archives at the Merrill-Cazier Library. 

This guide is a second in a series aiming to provide additional information and context about materials in USU's Government Information Collection. The focus of this guide is to highlight the representation of Indigenous peoples of North American through official U.S. Federal Government publications and to facilitate greater understanding of the context in which these documents were created.