Find Articles
- ScopusDatabase of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
- Ecology AbstractsThis is a subset of the ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (note that "Ecology Abstracts content only" is checked under the search box), and it contains current ecology research (from 1982 to present).
- ProQuest Central
This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
- Science DailyNews and articles in science, health, environment, and technology. Notice that there are links to categories at the top of the web page; these can help you navigate to biological topics.
Find Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Primary vs. Secondary Research
In addition to distinguishing between popular and scholarly articles, you need to be able to understand if the scholarly articles you are reading are reporting primary research or secondary research.
Primary Research
Primary research articles report original research and results. You will see the data and work that the authors produced. A primary source is an article that reports this. Other primary sources can include documents such as diaries and scrapbooks, photographs, and eyewitness accounts.
Secondary Research
Secondary research often summarizes the work of many primary research studies. In the sciences, a common example of this is a review article. Review articles report and analyze the results of primary research articles, but don't report any new information.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.
Need Help?
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
