Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science Information Literacy Assignment
You should have a headline from the Science Daily. You'll need to read the article and find the research article upon which Science Daily based its report.
Watch for indicators in the news like "in a study published today in," or "the research is in the current issue of" to help you identify the research journal article. Jot down the journal and researchers if mentioned, Pay attention to the dates as well. These are clues you need for searching for the article.
Find Background Info
Encyclopedia of Evolution
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology.
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Covers all types of phenomena that change life on Earth such as tsunamis, elephant conservation, and ocean pollution.
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence
Covers diseases, disorders, immunizations, drugs, and medical procedures.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
Definitions for more than 60,000 words and phrases.
Birds of North America
An encyclopedia of 716 different species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. In addition to articles, includes photos, videos, and sound recordings of bird calls.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Reference work with entries on major topics in life sciences.
Academic Search Ultimate
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Health Source: Nursing Academic
A full text, scholarly database on health and medicine
A free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Consumer medical information from the National Library of Medicine including preformulated MEDLINE searches; links to websites, documents, handouts, pamphlets, organizations, etc.; articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries.
CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher
A collection of in-depth and fact-checked reports on pressing domestic and international issues. Covers 1923-present.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.