Search Tips
Try using the following keywords as part of your searches in library databases, the catalog, or search engine to identify best and promising practices connected to your area of research:
- Evidence-based practice
- EBP
- Best practice
- Promising practice
- Research-based practice
Resource Lists
- NASW Evidence-Based Practice Resource ListDefinition of evidence-based practices for social work and discussion of their role in the field. Includes links to resources for identifying EBPs in many areas of social work.
- SAMHSA EPB Resource CenterFrom the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, a collection of scientifically-based resources, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and more.
- CDC Best PracticesBest practices for a number of individual and community health issues are available from the Centers from Disease Control and Prevention.
- Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice (EBBP)Resources for research and best practices in behavioral health.
- The Community GuideA collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF), an independent, nonfederal panel of public health and prevention experts.
- Mental Health Practices in Child Welfare ToolkitResources for mental health screening and assessment, psychosocial interventions, psychotropic medication, parent support, and youth empowerment from Florida's Center for Child Welfare in partnership with several organizations and researchers.
- Family-Centered Practice (CWIG)Resources and strategies for family-centered casework practice across child welfare service systems from the Child Welfare Information Gateway. For more topics and resources, see https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/
- Supporting & Preserving Families (CWIG)Information, examples, and best practices for support and preservation from the Child Welfare Information Gateway. For more topics and resources, see https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/
- CEBC for Child WelfareResources from the California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC) covering evidence-based practices for children and families involved with the child welfare system.
- AECF Resource LibraryAn extensive library of resources from the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Searchable by content type (e.g., practice guide, toolkit, checklist, case study, etc.) or by topic (e.g., evidence-based practice, racial equity, foster care, etc.).
- SWPI Resource ListA list of evidence-based practices resources, registries, and databases from the Social Work Policy Institute.
- The Community Tool BoxA free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change.
- IES What Works ClearinghouseA project of the Institute of Education Sciences to review the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education to for evidence-based decision-making.
- EBP Substance UseA tool from the University of the Washington Alcohol & Drug Abuse Institute to help treatment providers make informed decisions about which science-based practices are most appropriate for substance use.
- Education EPBs (IRIS Center)Summaries of evidence-based instructional strategies and interventions to support students, especially struggling learners and those with disabilities.
- NTACT Effective Practices and PredictorsFrom the National Technical Assistance Center on Transition, evidence-based and promising practices and predictors that promote positive post-school outcomes for students with disabilities.
- Praxis International Resource LibraryResources, reports, and best practices for assessment in a number of topic areas, especially in community assessment.
- Promising Practices NetworkARCHIVE ONLY (last updated June 2014). A collection of credible, research-based information on what works to improve the lives of children and families.
Systematic Reviews
Systematic reviews and meta-analyses analyze and summarize trends across research studies. Here are a few place you can find these types of articles:
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Use the "Methodology" filter to limit your results to systematic reviews.
- Campbell CollaborationSystematic reviews of the effectiveness of behavioral, social, and psychological interventions.
- Cochrane CollaborationSystematic reviews of health care interventions.
- Health EvidenceSystematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Mechanics, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Ecology, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Languages & Cultures, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Science & Fisheries, Welding, Wildlife, Range and Forestry
