WILD: Research in Wildland Resources: GIS Data Sources

• Utah AGRC: Utah Automated Geographic Reference Center is an excellent geographic repository. Backed by the State of Utah and the Department of Technology Services, Utah AGRC contains Utah's State Geographic Information Database (SGID) and has a wide array of useful datasets.  
• USDA - Natural Resources and Conservation Services - contains helpful information including data, maps and analysis including: 
  • Geospatial Data Gateway: provides natural resources and environmental data. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and download data. 
  • National Cartography and Geospatial Center (NCG): main distribution source for most GIS datasets maintained by NRCS, including NRI and soils data
• USGS (United States Geological Survey): is a science organization that provides impartial information about a range of topics including water, ecosystems, natural hazards and more. The site has a particularly useful page on Maps, Imagery, and Publications
• U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: National Wetlands Inventory: includes information on geospatial wetlands digital data and also map curation tools, face sheets and meta data. 
• Starting the Hunt: Guide to Mostly On-Line and Mostly Free U.S. Geospatial and Attribute Data: A guide from the University of Arkansas on finding free sources on U.S. geospatial data. 
• National Insect & Disease Risk Maps: Forest Health Technology Enterprise Team has compiled a strategic assessment and database of potiental hazards for trees in the U.S. 

CUAHSI   (Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc)

A community of scientists dedicated to enhancing the visibility, appreciation, understanding, and utility of hydrologic science through programs of education, outreach, and technology transfer

• HydroServer — a set of software applications for publishing hydrologic datasets on the Internet. HydroServer leverages commercial software such as Microsoft SQL Server and ESRI's ArcGIS Server for publishing hydrologic data services for an experimental watershed or site. (See also http://hydroserver.codeplex.com/.)
• HIS Central — a web application which provides a web interface for adding services to the metadata catalog, and editing service registrations. It also displays the list of registered services available.
• HydroDesktop — a free software that operates on a user's desktop computer, with the intent of serving as a common entry point into data resources published using the CUAHSI HIS WaterOneFlow web services and includes data discovery, download, visualization, editing, and integration with other analysis and modeling tools.