LibGuides: HIST 6000: Historical Methods and Research: What About Articles?

Search Tips

Identifying Peer Reviewed Articles
Guide to Article Linker (pdf)
This guide will help you use the ArticleLinker, which attempts to link you to the full text, the record for the print resource, or the interlibrary loan request form for items we do not own locally.
Finding Journals in the BARN

Core Journals

American Historical Review The American Historical Review (AHR) is the official publication of the American Historical Association (AHA). The AHR has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study.
Environmental History
Journal of American History
Renaissance Quarterly
Western Historical Quarterly
Perspectives on History

Article Databases

The Library provides access to a few hundred research databases, which are specialized search engines used for locating citations to articles and other research material related to specific topics. For research in history, I recommend the following:

America: History and Life (Requires Authentication)
Focus on United States and Canadian history and culture; citations and abstracts only with limited links to full text. Also includes book reviews. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.
Historical Abstracts (Requires Authentication)
World history and culture citation and abstract database. Coverage of the U.S. as it relates to other areas of the world. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Full Text Journals and Journal Collections

JSTOR (Requires Authentication)
Multi-disciplinary full-text electronic journal collection. Most recent 2-5 years generally not included. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.
Project Muse (Requires Authentication)
Multi-disciplinary e-journal collection for humanities and social sciences with access to current issues. OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS REQUIRES AUTHENTICATION.

Other Specialized Databases

Review Sources

New York Review of Books
Times Literary Supplement
more...less...
Archive content available in microfilm at the Merrill-Cazier Library
London Review of Books