This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
A-Board Historical Photograph Collection, Bear Lake, Idaho. Utah: Utah State University Special Collections.
A-1281. This is a photograph on cardstock of a Dredge barge at Camp Lifton. According to the description, it was “used by the Utah Power and Light company to dig and maintain the Bear Lake Outlet Council” which would connect Bear Lake fully to the Bear River. A small dock house and other wooden structures are pictured in addition to the floating barge. A note at the bottom of the cardstock reports that the photograph was loaned to the library for copying in 1976 by Lalda Evans of Montpelier, Idaho. Another note also mentions a possible negative of the photograph.
A-1281. Photograph of dredge barge at camp Lifton in Bear Lake, Idaho. The dredge was used by Utah Power and Light company to dig and maintain the Bear Lake Outlet Canal (connects lake with Bear River).
A-1281. This is a photograph mounted on a board of a dredge barge at Camp Lifton that was taken in Idaho in 1919 of a dredge barge. A description included on the board states the barge 5 was used to maintain the Bear Lake Outlet Canal that connects the lake to Bear River.
A-1281. This black and white photo from 1919 shows a dredge barge at Camp Lifton on Bear Lake. This dredge was used by Utah Power and Light Company to upkeep the Bear Lake outlet canal, which connects Bear Lake to Bear River.
A-1281. This black-and-white photo depicts a waterfront at Bear Lake, with a dredge barge on it. There is a description with the photo that indicates the dredge barge was used to maintain the Bear Lake Outlet Canal. The canal connected the Bear Lake with the Bear River and was maintained by the Utah Power & Light Company.
A-1281. This photo was taken in 1919 of a dredging barge on Bear Lake. The description on the board states the reason for dredging was for upkeep on the Bear Lake Outlet Canal that connects the Bear River and Bear Lake. The dredging was done by the Utah Power and Light company. There are other ships pictured along with what appears to be powerline structures.
A-1281. Photograph of dredge barge at camp Lifton in Bear Lake, Idaho. The dredge was used by Utah Power and Light company to dig and maintain the Bear Lake Outlet Canal (connects lake with Bear River).
A-1281. photograph is of an industrial development near/ on the water of Bear Lake. The images description states: Dredge used by the Utah Power and Light company to dig and mountain the Bear Lake Outlet Canal connecting the lake with Bear River.
A-2532. View of Bear Lake and Garden City, Utah from Logan Canyon Road in the 1930s. The photograph shows a dirt road overlooking the fields of the Bear Lake Valley which lead to Bear Lake.
A-2532. This is a photograph mounted on a board of Logan Canyon Road leading towards Bear Lake and Garden City taken in the 1930s. The view shows the dirt road, fields, farmland, and mountains leading to and surrounding Bear Lake.
A-2532. The picture shows us a narrow, dirt road made for travel from one-direction vehicles, unless they somehow find pullouts. Additionally, the picture shows the agricultural land layout and housing next to Bear Lake and how it is used.
A-2352. The road turns off left around a corner, and to the right and forward it drops off into fields and a handful of homes and trees in the distance. Bear Lake is pictured beyond this, with the outline of mountains in the background.
A-3959b. In this 1912 photograph, there are a group of four women and four children from the Thatcher family sitting on the back of a wagon. The group seems to be posing (all looking into the camera) for the picture in front of a tent, many with bonnets on their head. In the picture’s foreground, there is a wooded area.
A-2904. This is a photo taken in the Paris, Idaho LDS Tabernacle in 1913. This shows the pioneers of 1864 that settled in Bear Lake. There are flowers and American flags set at the bottom of the photo and front of the room. All of the people appear to be adults. There is a note next to the photo. black-and-white photo shows a group of people seated in pews in a tabernacle.
A-5713. 1974 photo of a large ice jam on the sides of Bear Lake. The photo was taken on the shore where there are a few shrubs on it. The ice jam fills most of the photo and there is a mound of ice at the end that appears to be around a foot or two tall at the end of the ice jam.
A-5712. 31 March 1974 Photograph taken on Dugway Road, which is a dirt road, with a woman in shorts standing on top of the ice. Due to the cold winters in the Bear Lake area, large piles of ice are pushed to the shore. She stands near a pickup truck, with mountains along the edge of the photo and fading into the distance.
A-1272. Photograph of Montpelier, Idaho located in the Bear Lake Valley. The picture was taken from a hill looking westward down Washington Street.
A-1283. Photograph shows a crowd at the LDS Paris Tabernacle for the dedication of the monument in honor of an apostle for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
A-2737b. July 12, 1926. General view of Western Phosphate Co., plant and sawmill. This is located 3 miles from Paris, Idaho in Davis Canyon. Logging was a major industry in the Bear Lake Area and was a catalyst for growth.
A-1237. 1910. Railroads coal chute collapse Oregon short line railroad coal yards. The Oregon Short Line Railroad was a railroad in Wyoming, Idaho, Utah, Montana and Oregon. It connected Montpelier, Idaho to larger industries and promoted growth.
A-3418. 1905. Oregon Short Line Railroad Repair Crew. The Oregon Short Line Railroad was a railroad in Wyoming, Idaho, Utah, Montana and Oregon. It connected Montpelier, Idaho to larger industries and promoted growth.
These specific photos depict soldiers returning home from WW1. Other materials found in this collection include irrigation work done to connect fields with water from Bear Lake.
A-0128. Shows a large, wooded area that had been chopped down.
“Bear Lake, Idaho Pioneers of 1864” 1913. Call # 39060 02164 9586. Photo section: History of Bear Lake Pioneers A-2904, Special collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.
The document is a photograph picturing the settlers of the Idaho side of Bear Lake. The photograph was taken in the Paris Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saint Tabernacle in 1913. It appears to have been a festive reunion occasion, with United States flags and flowers adorning the foreground. A negative of the photo is also available at the library according to a note on the cardstock.
The S. George Ellsworth Photograph Collection, 1826-1827. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, P0025, Box 16, Folder 6.
Folder 10 contains some maps of the western United States before western states as we know them were states. One such map “‘Jed’ Smith’s Routes Across Utah: 1826-1827.” details a map that shows a lake that could be Bear Lake. It looks smaller than what we now 16 know it as. The lake is seen to be only in Utah. This folder contains a paper copy and a negative map of the western United States that was created by David H. Burr showing “Jed” Smith’s Routes across Utah. David H. Burr was a Geographer to the House of Representatives. On the map “Utaw Lake” is shown. In the northeast of this there is another body of water labeled “Lake” which was locally known as Black Bear Lake at the time and is now known as Bear Lake. Also contains a lithograph of Bear Lake by Lyman Bybe, though this may be Bear Lake, Colorado.
Map of the United States and Territories of the General Land Office, Commissioner Wilson,1866. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, X1284: (39.2)H.exdoc 1, map 1.
1866 map of the United States, that includes township lines, public surveys, and landgrant offices and railroads. Also includes information of where different minerals and resources are, like gold and silver. Bear Lake is notably missing from this map, although the Bear River and Logan, Utah are included.
Thomas Sleight and Ira N. Hayward “The Journal of Thomas Sleight (1833 – 1918) A Pioneer of Bear Lake Valley.” 1955. Call # 979.2 R426 v.7, 39060020378450. Joel E. Ricks Collection of Transcriptions, Volume VII, Special Collections Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University.
This is a typewritten copy of the journal of Thomas Sleight, who one of the first members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints to be tasked with evaluating the Bear Lake Valley for settlement. The volume was edited by Ira N. Hayward, and covers 1857 to 1918, along with an introductory summary and letters to Mr. Sleight from friends and neighbors. The journal follows him through his beginnings into the Bear Lake Valley, where he was called by Brigham Young with several other families to build homes in the valley and report their experiences. He was an original settler of Paris, Idaho, and documented his interactions with the local Indigenous Americans whose hunting grounds were clustered around the lake.
Rich, R. Russell. Land of the Sky-blue Water: A History of the LDS Settlement of the Bear Lake Valley (Brigham Young University, 1963), USU Special Collections, 979.67 B38-Ri.
A 1963 master’s thesis in history that details a chronological history of the Bear Lake area since the first journey into the area of Anglo explorers. This book contains the LDS church settlement history in Bear Lake Valley, including aspects of their daily life. It provides a deep history of Bear Lake from 100 years ago and how it has changed over time as well as the different settlement locations these pioneers inhabited. It highlights pioneer interactions with Indigenous Americans, thieves, and Johnston’s army. This is a collection of documents, interviews, and letters about the LDS Pioneer settlements in the Bear Lake valley. The information spans from about September 1863 to September 1963. Includes a brief account of the Bear Lake monster.
Sleight, Thomas. Thomas Sleight Journal. Special Collections, Merrill-Crazier Library, Utah State University, Microfilm Utah Reel #92, part 2, item 16 and special collections 979.2 R426.v.7.
Journal written by Thomas Sleight who was an original Anglo settler of the Bear Lake Valley. He writes about the settlement, and how he negotiated with the local Indigenous American tribes for their permission to settle in the valley.
Passey, Earl F. The Settlement of Montpelier, Idaho in Bear Lake Valley. Special Collections and Archives, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University. 979.67 M768.
This book, written by Earl F. Passey, goes over the history of Montpelier and Bear Lake Valley. The book discusses history including their settlement, the Oregon trail, pioneers, the railroads, etc. The book was originally published in 1936. 2. The Oregon Trail at Montpelier -- 3. The coming of the pioneers -- 4. Religious and social organizations -- 5. The railroad -- 6. Political and public affairs --7. Montpelier schools -- 8. Pictures of Montpelier -- Appendices: A. LDS settlers and Chief Washakie; B. Chronological history of Idaho ; C. Idaho Territorial government ; D. State of Idaho government ; E. United State Senators and Representatives ; F. Idaho state symbols and songs.
Malouf, Beatrice B. “Pioneer Potpourri.” 1994. Special Collections and Archives, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University. 979.208 D265 No. 523.
The Pioneer Potpourri is a series of diaries and journal entries of Utah pioneers documenting their journeys through the west. This compilation of journal entries shows us a first hand view of what people went through during this time, things such as the battle of Bear River.
Parson, Robert E. A History of Rich County. Special Collections and Archives, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 1996. 979.27 C333 no.2.
This book was written by Robert E. Parson and published in 1996. It covers the history of Rich County and includes: presettlement life, seven initial LDS settlements, how 27 the land and weather affected life, agricultural history, and others. The book was published by and worked with by Utah State Historical Society and Rich County Communication.
Russell R. Rich. 1948. “History of the Latter-Day Saint Settlement of the Bear Lake Valley 1863-1900.” Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 979.27, B38s.
This historical book explores the history of the LDS settlement in the Bear Lake Valley. It discusses the early Bear Lake Valley, and the environment that it was. It then goes through the exploration of the valley, where the LDS pioneers came through Emigration Canyon in 1863 and the harsh winters they dealt with once they had settled in the region. It discusses how Indigenous Americans and the settlers interacted, the settlement problems, and other topics including: local government, faith, polygamy as well as the tabernacle and folklore.
Kenney, Scott G. Wilford Woodruff’s Journal, Typescript Volume 1. Signature Books, 1983. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 289.392 W86-K v.1
This is the first volume of a collection of journals by Wilford Woodruff, the fourth president of the Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter-day Saints. Woodruff recorded early LDS history and history of the Anglo settlement of Utah. This volume includes the settlement of Rich County, the part of Utah where Bear Lake is found.
“Bear Lake County History.” Bear Lake County Idaho. Accessed April 4, 2024. https:// www.bearlakecounty.info/history.html#:~:text=The%20Bear%20Lake%20Valley%20was,18 18%20for%20trapping %20and%20hunting.
This article by the Idaho side in Paris, Idaho, and gives a history of the Bear Lake Valley. It goes over the establishment of Paris Idaho, North of Garden City, and it covers a trading post set up where travelers on the Oregon trail would buy, sell, and trade supplies on the north end of the lake on their way to Oregon.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License