Bear Lake Class Cohort Grant Research Bibliography: Folklore

Cory S. Moffett, Necia Knapton. “The Legend of The Bear Lake Monster” Call #3 9060019428787, PAM B 657, Special Collections Merrill-Cazier Library Utah State University, 2000.

A small guidebook of information and folktales gathered from around the Bear Lake area concerning the Bear Lake Monster, which is a monster claimed to be seen living in the lake since the 1860’s by settlers and earlier by the Indigenous Shoshone. It contains some background on Bear Lake’s geographical history and the original story of the lake’s monsters as told by the Shoshone tribe. It recounts interviews of stories of the monster as told in newspapers such as The Deseret News, which sources are provided at the end of the book. Includes illustrations that accompany each chapter of the book. It mentions that elk were very prevalent around bear lake. The book tells a pair of accounts of cattle or humans being eaten by some type of predator in the lake. It claims that the monster lives in underwater caves that lead into the mountains.

“Sims, Mitchell (Mitch) W.: Storytelling: Bear Lake; Garden City, Rich, Utah,” 1980. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Fife Folklore Conference Collection, 1980. UUS_FOLK COLL 31, 5:09:39.

This entry is the notes of P. Stewart from an interview with Mitchell W. Sims on 7/8/80. This interview was held to scout out community members with various skills appropriate for a folklore conference and determine if the community members were a good fit to share their skills in an educational setting. Sims’ skill is listed as narrating (Bear Lake). The interview notes also include information regarding Sims’ work and family history. Stewart’s notes describe that Sims was recommended for being well-versed in Bear Lake history, however, Sims is not a “lively narrator”. Stewart concludes that Sims’ health issues would keep him from participating in any events. Stewart also mentions that scouting Mrs. Sims as a storyteller would probably be a fulfilling task, as she was an excellent narrator.

“Gift of Nostalgic past: Bear Lake monster” (1980) Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives, Oversize Book Coll 43 No. 11980

A newspaper written in the “The Herald Journal” in 1980. It was written by A.J. Simmons. It outlines many stories about the Bear Lake monster and some of the scientific evidence that disproves it. It discusses the plausibility of the monster. Photo of the dirt Logan Canyon Road in 1930 included.

Wilde, J. Pat. “Real or Not? The Bear Lake Monster” 1972. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, CAINE COLL MSS 3 Box 1 Folder 14.

An article published in 1972 that describes the origins of the story of the Bear Lake Monster from one Joseph C. Rich in 1868. Describes the spread of the story of the Bear Lake Monster including descriptions of the monster and acceptance of its existence. Includes a drawn depiction of the Bear Lake Monster.

Oreta Rich Berghout Interview (Transcript) (1977), Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections & Archives, FILE MSS 353

An oral interview transcript of Oreta Rich Berghout, who lived in the Bear Lake area in her childhood. She describes that her ancestor Joseph C. Rich gave an account to a Deseret News reporter about the Bear Lake monster, and brings up a supposed Native American tradition about a serpentine monster in the lake. She then goes on to describe the various tales that were told about what the monster looked like. This interview was conducted in 1977.

The Bear Lake Monster (Rich County, UT) 1972. Digital Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, MSS 0431 Box 2 Folder 6.

The paper describes how the story of the Bear Lake Monster was created. It was a story that was told and spewed forth by Joseph C. Rich in the late 1860s. The Bear Lake monster became a hot topic of conversation for the next forty years. There’s a theory about how it was born; Joseph, “the versatile son of Bear Lake’s Founding Father, was in love, and he created the Bear Lake month for his beloved Ann Hunter. Joseph was quite successful; he was a budding lawyer, assistant clerk of the Utah Legislature, Rich County surveyor, church leader, and an impressive author. He used his skills to tell the story and spread it to others around.

Episodes of Mormon Mystery chapter, The Bear Lake Monsters, Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives, SpecColl289.38 Ep46 An excerpt from a book called “Episodes of Mormon Mystery”.

Book excerpt which describes the origins of the legend of the Bear Lake Monster, including details from the first written account which was given by Joseph C. Rich in the Deseret News. He heard it from the Indigenous Americans in the valley. Written in 1983.

USU Student Folklore Genre Collection of Belief: 1969-1999. Community History

Series of folkloric and religious accounts collected by students from USU and BYU which were taken between 1970 and 2000, including Garden City.

A Humorous Account of the Bear Lake Monster. From the Fife Mormon Collection. Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives, Folk Collection 4 No. 1 Series I Volume 4-554 Pond

A humorous story written about the Bear Lake monster. The account describes a family going for a swim and enjoying themselves when the Bear Lake monster comes and tries to eat them. Just before it does, the Bear Lake monster sees itself in the water and sees how ugly it is. It cries and goes back into the lake. Written in 1946, author unknown

Transcription of interview about the Bear Lake monster (1970) Utah State University, Merrill- Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives, Folk Coll 8a Group 2 Box 19 Folder 21_3704

An oral interview transcript of Kathleen H. Jenson, who lived in Cache County and explains her recollection and experience of hearing about the Bear Lake Monster. She explains its characteristics and where it was said to live, and how her grandfather told her about it. Interview was conducted in 1970.

Information from Hector Lee, May 20, 1946 (1946), Utah State University, Merrill-Cazier Library, Special Collections and Archives, Folk Collection 4 No. 1 Series I Volume 3-332 Fife 001_Page 322

An account given by Hector Lee, wherein he was giving a talk about folklore, and a professor stood up in the audience and said that he had seen the Bear Lake monster, but that it had turned out to be a large school of carp, which he says could easily have been mistaken for a monster.

Fife Folklore Conference Records, Box 5, Utah: Utah State University, 1977-2015, Folk COLL 31. Folder 9

Many different traditions and trades of Bear Lake residents among other Utah and Idaho residents. Trades include leatherwork, Danish cooking, storytelling, etc.