Bear Lake Class Cohort Grant Research Bibliography: Community History

Dawn C. Martindale “The Rolling Hills of November: The Historical and Geological Significance of 1884 Bear Lake, Utah Earthquake,” Special Collections and Archives, Theses. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah. 979.27.

This book was written by Dawn Martindale as a master’s degree in science. The objectives of the paper are to review previous data, record new data, and analyze the interactions between geography and history to be used to evaluate how natural disasters influenced historic communities. It contains records of the effect of the earthquake on commercial and private infrastructure including agriculture, railroads, and homes. Specific geographic information is also included. Sought to determine the scale of the 1884 Bear Lake earthquake and its effects on the surrounding communities. Includes excerpts from 10 newspapers, photographs, and charts. As well as how it affected daily life, and how it continues to affect the region today.

“Robinson, Elgie Moss: Quilting, Sewing, Crocheting: Laketown, Rich, Utah,” 1980, Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, Fife Folklore Conference Collection, 1980. UUS_FOLK COLL 31.

5:09:38. This entry is the notes of P. Stewart from an interview with Elgie Moss Robinson on 7/8/80 concerning her suitability and interest in participating in educational events. The notes contain information about Moss’s personal history relevant to her skills. Stewart accounts that Moss is skilled in quilting, sewing, crocheting, and other forms of craft making. He notes that Moss gives all of the goods she makes away, which could make it hard to display her projects. Additionally, Moss doesn’t drive, which leads Stewart to decide not to recommend her for an event. Keywords: Folklore.

5:09:22. The interview was held to find suitable skilled community members to participate in an educational event. Hulme was a part of the Montpelier Lions Trio and was a capable singer who played multiple instruments. Stewart’s notes state that while Hulme was a good fit for an educational event, Hulme wasn’t interested at that time due to the recent death of a band member.

5:09:23. P. Stewart’s notes describe that Irwin “played everything you blew and nothing with strings.” He also shares how due to Irwin’s self-described loss of vocal and 12 musical talent due to age made the interviewee very shy, and therefore not a good choice for an event.

Bear Lake Magazine (Garden City, UT). Special Collections, Merril-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 979.27 B38f.

Vol. 1, no. 1 May 1, 1977 to vol. 5, no. 5 Nov. 1981 – incomplete Bear Lake Magazine (Salt Lake City, UT), 1977-81.

Vol. 1, No 1, BEAR LAKE ELEVATION TO BE LOWERED BY DROUGHT May 1, 1977

Vol. 1, No 2, THE DEVELOPERS: Writing New History At Bear Lake June 1, 1977

Vol. 1, No 3, 150th Anniversary of the Historic Rendezvous July 1, 1977

Vol. 1, No 4, The Story of Famous Bear Lake Raspberries Aug 1, 1977

Vol. 1, No 5, In High Water Or Low Water The Turquoise Jewel Of Bridgerland Sept 1, 1977

Vol. 1, No 7, When it’s Winter at Bear Lake… Winter 1977

Vol. 1, No 8, Endangered Species At Bear Lake. Provides information on both wildlife sciences and resources at the lake. Most notably, an article in the magazine discusses the endangerment of bald eagles around the lake. Mar 15, 1978

Vol. 1, No 8, SPECIAL BULLETIN TO SUBSCRIBERS ONLY. Jan 20, 1978

Vol. 1, No 9, The Water Comes Back To Bear Lake April 15, 1978

Vol. 1, No 10, The Cranes Of Bear Lake… Issue also compares Bear Lake to other recreation areas in the greater U.S. West, and discusses the recreational benefits of Bear Lake. May 15, 1978

Vol. 2, No 1, Summer At Bear Lake June 15, 1978

Vol. 2, No 2, Festival Of The American West. Focused around the 150th Anniversary of the Historic Rendezvous, but also discusses the Kunz and Tueller family stories, narrates the rise of area’s dairy industry, and describes the new Bear Lake Wildlife Refuge, including the wildlife present. July 15, 1978

Vol. 2, No 3, OIL AND GAS A New Chapter at Bear Lake. Sept 15, 1978

Also labelled as Vol. 2, No 3, Peg–Leg Smith 1st year-round resident of the Bear Lake Valley, twenty years prior to the LDS Pioneers. Aug 15, 1978

Vol. 2, No 7, THE BEAR LAKE LETTER The Water of Bear Lake Its Sources Its Uses The Influences on its Elevation. Lists the change in water levels from 1915 to 1978. Oct 15, 1978

Vol 2, No 10, From “Big Foot” to CrossCountry Skiing. Issue focused on winter-time recreation activities in the Bear Lake Valley. December 15, 1978

Vol 3, No 1, THE BEAR LAKE LETTER Jan 15, 1979

Vol 3, No 3, CHERYL TIEGS In the Whooping Crane Marshes Grays Lake Caribou County, Idaho April, 1979

Vol 3, No 4, Strange Looking Bird of the Bear Lake Marshes May, 1979

Vol 3, No 5, Gone… But Not Forgotten June, 1979

Vol 3, No 7, Sailing on Bear Lake 1978 National Hobie Cat Finals July, 1979

Vol 3, No 7, BEAR LAKE IS FOR FAMILIES August 15, 1979

Vol 3, No 8, Dedication of the St. Charles Chapel MDCCCCIX Sep 15, 1979

Vol 3, No 10 Future Attraction Winter at Bear Lake Dec, 1979

Vol 4, No 1, THE BEAR LAKE LETTER “Publisher, Editor, Reporter, Closet Journalist” April 19, 1980

Vol 4, No 2, MORATORIUM IN WOODRUFF May 15, 1980

Vol 4, No 3, $10 MILLION BET: WILL IT PAY OFF? July, 1980

Vol 4, No 4, BEAR LAKE SPARKLES FOR INVESTORS, TOO See page 8 August, 1980

Vol 4, No 5, LOST COURT CASE MEANS SHARP INCREASE IN TAX Fall, 1980 Vol 5, No 1, YEAR OF BOOM March-April, 1981

Vol 5, No 2, OVERTHRUST IMMPACT ARRIVING June, 1981

Vol 5, No 3, CRIME: Epidemic hits valley VIOLENCE UP DRAMATICALLY July, 1981

Vol 5, No 4, Governors talk overthrust & oil Sept, 1981

Vol 13 5, No 5, Open space plan means intense use of beachfront Nov, 1981.

Friends of Bear Lake Newsletter (Salt Lake City, UT), 1982-1985. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, 979.27 B28fn.

The newsletter of interest was published in June of 1985. A story, titled “The Water’s Fine”, appeared to ask the people of Garden City where the residents were. The newsletter was urging people to start watering their lawns and gardens, prior to a dry hot spell that covered Bear Lake. The story suggests that residents had moved away from the area during the hot season, but that Garden City was now urging people to return. Other issues include residents sharing their thoughts and ideas about how to improve living in Bear Lake. With boating, swimming, fishing, lake pollution and overall recreation. Also discusses more local topics such as politics, the dangers of bunk beds, water forecasts, new dental clinics, the Friends of Bear Lake homeowner’s association, and job listings. Routinely tracks lake level.

Williams, Randy. Scott Johnson Interview (Transcript). Special Collections, Merrill-Crazier Library, Utah State University, FOLK COLL 49.

Transcript of an interview with Scott Johnson. He talks about growing up on the East side of Bear Lake on his family's ranch, and how ranching has changed between 1940 and 2019.

Cole, Bradford R., Middleton, Barbara. Janet Quinney Lawson, April 28, 2008 Transcript of Interview. Special Collections, Merrill-Crazier Library, Utah State University, Logan Canyon Land Use Management Oral History Collection, FOLK COLL 45 Box 4 Fd. 2.

Transcription of an interview with Janet Quinney Lawson where she talks about her childhood and her time at her family's summer home at Bear Lake between 1930 and 1959. She described her childhood at her family's summer home at Bear Lake. She talks about the memories she had up there with her family and her family's homes that she would visit in Logan, Utah. She talked a lot about how she went skiing and sailing at the Wasatch front with family and friends. She describes how awesome driving up Logan Canyon to Bear Lake was. She was asked about the Bear Lake monster and had lots of stories to tell about it. This interview is a great source to show how growing up here or around the area can be awesome and a great experience.

“Herald Journal Newspaper Photographs,” 1969-1996, Special Collections, Merill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, UUS_P0001.

This is a collection of photographs taken by various photographers to be published in Herald Journal. Many of the photographs depict people, events, and other subjects in or near Bear Lake. Some of the photos also depict wildlife including weasels and rabbits around Bear Lake. This set focuses on cisco fishing and some wildlife around the lake. Other activities include Fourth of July celebrations and an orchestral concert with observers sitting in the grass.

UUS_COLL MSS 346 Fred W. Hodgson Architectural Drawings, 1920-1929. Flat-folder 2, sub- folder 3, sub-sub-folder 2. 8.2.3.2.1, 8.2.3.2.2.

Blueprints for a cottage at Bear Lake for Mr. Sidney Nebeker. The architect was Fred W. Hodgson, who was born in Salt Lake City on March 12, 1886. In 1915, Hodgson settled in Logan, Utah and began his architecture practice where he developed many plans for schools, churches, jails and private homes in Cache and Box Elder County. Nebeker’s son (Sidney J. Nebeker) was raised in the Bear Lake cottage and would go on to be an important benefactor and community leader in the Bear Lake area before his death in 2014.

UUS_8.2:9 TOT Richard E. Toth Papers 1964-2016, Box 8 Folder 4. Land Use Planning for the Bear Lake region, 2008.

Richard E. Toth began his USU career in 1972 with the Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning. Toth pioneered the studio curriculum at USU, where LAEP students conducted comprehensive environmental assessments for many Utah communities and natural areas. Toth’s work in this collection focused on land development and community planning in the areas around Bear Lake including the towns as Garden City and Laketown.

A History of Water Resources Development in the Bear River Basin of Utah, Idaho, and Wyoming (Bear River Range), 1973. Special Collections, Merrill-Cazier Library, Utah State University, TC 423.6.W74X.

This paper looks at the history of water resource development in the Bear River Basin and the attitudes towards development meant to reduce concern over water scarcity or shortage. This scarcity was a high-focus point of water resource development in the Bear River Basin as it became more detailed and complex. It has gone through several periods, starting from the original LDS settlements in the area, towards the need for more resources with a larger population. The developments were met with distrust once the developer convinced the water users of his concern for the appropriate water supply for basin water users.

Utah State University Institute for Social Science Research on Natural Resources reports and program files USU_17.16, Box 2, Book 21. Special Collections and Archives. Utah State University Merrill-Cazier Library. Logan, Utah.

A collection of reports on the social effects phenomenon in the Bear Lake Valley. Many people are interviewed and asked their opinion on Bear Lake.