LibGuides: Hispanic Heritage Month: Databases and Digital Collections

Digital Exhibit

Latinx Voices of Cache Valley
Cache Valley, Utah, is home to a rich Latinx population whose voices are often underrepresented in local repositories. To rectify this, in 2007 Utah State University (USU) Libraries’ Special Collections and Archives directed an effort to collect the voices of 45 Latinx community members; these interviews represent Phase One. The interviews feature people originally from Mexico, Guatemala, Brazil, California, Utah, and more. The interviewees talk about family, religion, employment, social issues, and interests, as well as challenges associated with relocation and cultural identity.

Databases

Gale World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
This database contains high-value primary source research content regarding Latin America and the Caribbean. The content includes academic journals, regional news-feeds, reference articles, maps, statistics, audio, and video. This database covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Contains citations to scholarly journals, books, and book reviews about US-Hispanic and Latin American topics, in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish languages. Coverage: 1970 - present.
Latin America & Iberian Database
This database provides active full text to scientific periodicals locally published by publishers and academic institutions in various Latin American countries, in Spain and in Portugal. The main topics of interest represented in the database are economics, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and the humanities.
Latin American Newspapers
This online collection provides more than 50 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.