Biographical Information: Find Books
- Library Catalog
This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
Search by the name of your educator. If your educator is very famous for other things too, you might try your educator's name AND education.
For example: Thomas Jefferson AND education
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
How to find a book in the stacks:
Historical Context: Find Background Info & Encyclopedias
- American Decades, 1900-1990Use the "Choose a Volume" option at the time to choose which decade you want to look at. Chapter four is about major trends in education.
- American Decades, 2000-2009Use the "Choose a Volume" option at the time to choose which decade you want to look at. Chapter four is about major trends in education.
- American Eras, 1600-1899Use the "Choose a Volume" option at the time to choose which era you want to look at. Chapter four is about major trends in education.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Educational Ideas: Find Articles
- Education Source
- This link opens in a new window
A large, online digital library focused on a broad range of educational topics in scholarly articles, news, magazines and trade journals. - ERIC via the US Department of EducationA large, online digital library of education research and information, including scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with the open access interface (freely available to everyone).
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Tip:
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.
Class Activity
- PadletGo to this website and create a note (bottom right corner, plus sign).
1. Write the name of your educator on it.
2. Write one sentence on why they are a famous educator.
3. What decade did they work in?
Need Help?
