General APA Guides
APA is a commonly style used by business professional. APA's online guide includes examples for most common source types. For more in-depth guidelines, the library has print copies of the 7th edition APA manual.
Note: While many citation generators can be found online and in library databases, these tools aren't always accurate or updated with current style guidelines. You should always check and correct citations using the style manual or an authoritative guide.
Citing Business Reports
Some source types, like reports from library databases, don't have specific guidelines in APA. Instead, use the general citation guidelines for websites, but modified to include the database name and its public website address:
Author Last, First or Corporate Name (Year, Month Day). Title of information or data [Data type if necessary]. Site/database name. Database/Publisher Homepage URL
Additional Guidelines:
- No author. When no author is provided, use the publisher name. Give as much of the date (month, day) as is readily available.
- Use public URLs. URLs from library databases are modified with login information and won't work without USU credentials. In these cases include the database name and its public web address to ensure your readers can access the original source.
- Retrieved from: APA no longer requires you to include retrieval date or "Retrieved from," except for sources that are frequently updated, like forecast data. In these cases, you should include the date when you accessed the information. For example: "Retrieved July 1, 2022 from Passport database."
Examples
Passport database:
Euromonitor International. (2022, July). Ice cream in Morocco. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/
Statista database:
McCarthy, N. (2019, June 28). Is the world set to witness a second Arab Spring? [Chart]. Statista. https://www.statista.com
IBISWorld database:
Couillard, L. (2018). IBISWorld Industry Report C1111-GL. Global milk and cream manufacturing. IBISWorld. https://www.ibisworld.com/
Company Annual Report from the web:
Pepsico. (2017). Pepsico Inc. 2017 annual report. Pepsico. https://www.pepsico.com/investors/annual-reports-and-proxy-information
Need Help?
