Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RELS: Research in Religious Studies: Primary Sources at Utah State University

Locate secondary source materials related to the study of religion. [RELS]

Subscription Databases

Patrologia Latina

We frequently get requests for Patrologia Latina here at the Library. The Patrologia was published by Jacques-Paul Migne between 1844 and 1855 and is essentially a collection (in Latin) of ecclesiastical writings by the church fathers from Tertullian to Pope Innocent III. Unfortunately, we do not have access in either print or microform locally. Nor to we have a subscription to the online subscription version of the Patrologia (although USU students may use this online version in the Lee Library at BYU). Fortunately, access to some of the content is now available through a WIKI with links out to digitized versions of the PL. This is not an ideal solution, but it is a start:

ClassicsIndex PL

The Patrologia Gracae is also available through the same WIKI:

ClassicsIndex PG

Special Collections & Archives

Utah State Special Collections & Archives is located on the lower level of the Merrill-Cazier Library in Logan. We encourage student research projects and are happy to work with you to identify materials that may be relevant to the questions you are pursuing. Not surprisingly, we have a collection that richly documents the history and culture of Mormonism. We also have an unexpected depth of materials that document the history of the Protestant Reformation in England. More modest collections include a small number of illuminated Medieval manuscript leaves, two bound books of hours, and several historic Bibles (selected list).

Of course, research in religious studies may involve a plethora of sources, many of which may not on the surface seem to be related to a specific faith tradition. Curators are happy to visit with you to think about how your topic may be represented in our holdings.