Get Started
Find Background Information
- Library Catalog
This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedia of American ReligionsFind background information and topic ideas relevant to religion in America.
- Encyclopedia of ReligionFind background information and topics relevant to your interests on religion.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Religious StudiesThis database offers the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, across the subjects of Buddhism, Hinduism, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, and the Renaissance & Reformation.
How Do I...?
Access Books & Media?
Access Library Resources Off-Campus?
Digital Dissertations
- Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts)Doctoral dissertations and some masters' theses from many North American graduate schools and some European universities. This is an excellent resource for reviewing bibliographies on fairly narrowly defined research questions, identifying what new scholars in the field are doing, as well as finding information about specific topics.
Your Librarian
Sample Call Numbers for Religious Studies
- BL: Religion (general)/Mythology/Rationalism (Hinduism is classed here at BL 1100-1295)
- BM: Judaism
- BP: Islam/Bahaism/Theosophy
- BQ: Buddhism
- BR: Christianity
- BS: The Bible
- BT: Doctrinal Theology
- BV: Practical Theology
- BX: Christian Denominations (e.g. Coptic Church=BX130-139, Catholic Church=BX800-4795, Mormonism=BX860-8695)
