Government links
- Federally Recognized Indian Tribes and ResourcesThis website provides information relevant to many aspects of native american life. It includes a list of federally recognized tribes, links for tribal leaders maintained by the Bureau of Indian Affairs, summary of cultural resources, and other federal programs for Native Americans.
- Bureau of Indian Affairs"The Bureau of Indian Affairs’ mission is to enhance the quality of life, to promote economic opportunity, and to carry out the responsibility to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians, Indian tribes and Alaska Natives." The BIA website provides access to current programs and services.
- HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository that includes over 1 million U.S. government documents. It includes a huge variety of full-text searchable historic publications from government agencies. Titles in the public domain (including government documents) are available full text. Download requires USU login.
Materials at USU Libraries
USU Libraries has an extensive Government Information Collection, arranged by federal agency or bureau.
Agencies and bureaus relevant to Native American Studies include: Bureau of Indian Affairs, Department of Interior, Department of State, the Indian Health Service, Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution, and Congressional committees such as the Committee on Indian Affairs, Committee on the Conditions of Indian Tribes, Committee on Affairs in the Indian Territory, and the Congressional Serial Set.
Search the catalog for physical documents like books, maps, and pamphlets. For search help, contact the Government Information Librarian.
- Library CatalogThe USU Library catalog includes records for government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. Start here and be sure to check the format type. You can limit your search to government materials by using the Advanced Search and limiting your "Material Type" to "Government Document"
- Finding Government InformationEssential links and information about how to access materials produced by U.S. federal agencies, bureaus, and offices.
- ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database of U.S. Legislative information contains the full-text of bills (1989 to date), laws (1988 to date), the Federal Register (1980 to date), the Code of Federal Regulations, the National Journal (1980 to date), information on members of congress, committees, and congressional publications. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 80 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. - Govinfo
- This link opens in a new window
Govinfo is a site produced by the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
State Resources - Intermountain West
- Utah Division of Indian AffairsThis link points you to the State of Utah's Division of Indian Affairs. The division helps point people to resources, including health services, secondary education, and liaisons to other state agencies. It also hosts information about legislative initiatives.
- Tribal Nations in UtahThis page is linked from the Utah Division of Indian Affairs. Includes contact information for tribal nations. According to the site, "Utah is home to eight distinct tribal nations, each with a unique heritage that can be found among the state's many sacred places, and expand across Colorado, Arizona and Nevada."
- Tribal Relations: Arizona Department of Economic SecurityFrom the Arizona state government, this website describes collaboration and coordination of services with Arizona's 22 Tribal Nations.
- Colorado Commission of Indian AffairsThe Colorado Commission of Indian Affairs "facilitating communication between the Southern Ute Indian Tribe, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, the other 46 Historic Tribes of Colorado, American Indian organizations, state agencies, and affiliated groups." The website includes descriptions of recognized and historic tribes, maps, and additional information about Colorado's "Urban Indian Population."
