ENGL 3355: Keri Holt: Key Resources

It is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.

The database includes access to more than 75,000 titles from the following core bibliographies: American bibliography, a chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820, by Charles Evans; National index of American imprints through 1800; the short-title Evans, by Roger Bristol; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; American bibliography, a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819, by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker; and Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

Early American Imprints is a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Series I, Evans, and its supplement are definitive resources for information about every aspect of life in the United States during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Series II, Shaw, and its supplement encompass the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.

Also see the Evans Early American Imprint Collection Text Creation Partnership, which will ultimately include 6,000 accurately keyed and fully searchable SGML/XML text editions from among the 40,000 titles available in the Evans Early American Imprints Collection: http://quod.lib.umich.edu/e/evans/.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection.