Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information Areas
The Government Information Collection is arranged first by format type and then by SuDoc call number. Format types include Print, Print Oversize, Maps, CDs/DVDs, and Microfiche. Depending on an item's size or preservation needs, it may be stored in a separate area of the Government Information Department. With a few exceptions, materials located on shelves are cataloged or will eventually be cataloged. Items located in drawers or locked cabinets are listed in shelflists. Shelflists often include the title, publication date, and other information as appropriate. Shelflists are available for public download and review below. They are updated as items are added to the collection.
Areas of the Government Information Collection include:
- Census Area*
- Circulating Collection
- Circulating Oversize
- Historic Tourism & Road Map files*
- Microfiche Collections
- Multimedia (CDs/DVDs/VHS)*
- Reference Materials*
- Secure Area/Lockdown
- Small items & Kits*
- State Documents
*Consult a shelflist.
Some materials are accessible only when staff is present. Materials that require special access times are noted on the relevant shelflist. Please contact the Government Information Librarian or the Government Information Office if you have questions about accessing specific materials. If you require access outside of department office hours, please contact staff to discuss your needs.
Current shelflists are available below. Additional shelflists are in production. Contact the Government Information Office with questions.
The CIA Maps Collection includes maps produced by the Central Intelligence Agency and distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program. Maps are stored in a filing cabinet the Government Information Department Map Area according to their SuDoc call number. For assistance, please visit the Government Information Office.
Historic Tourism File
The Historic Tourism file includes road maps and travel brochures from a variety of continents, countries, and U.S. states. Materials are filed by size of material and subject. Consult the shelflist for Location. Materials can only be accessed when either the Government Information Office or the SCA Reading Room is open.
Poster & Image Collection
The Poster & Image Collection includes materials issued by the Federal Depository Library Program in flat formats larger than 8.5 x 11 inches. Materials are stored in flat map drawers. Items are publicly accessible when the library is open, but do not circulate.
Census Bureau Publications
Publications of regularly conducted Censuses are stored by type in the Census Area (e.g. Census of Agriculture, Census of Manufacturing, Census of Governments). Consult this shelflist to see USU holdings and locate them in the Census Area. These materials are publicly accessible during all library hours, but they do not circulate.
Multimedia (CD/DVD/VHS) Items
This list provides access to Federal Depository materials issued on electronic formats (CD, DVD, and VHS). Equipment/Readers for these materials are available in the Government Information Office or at the Circulation Desk. If the materials are also available online, links are provided in the shelflist.
USGS Map Indexes and Catalogs
This shelflist contains reference materials produced by the US Geological Survey. Topographic maps are organized by state and name. Small states and territories are listed multiple areas per catalog or index.
List of series produced by state governments or agencies affiliated with state governments. Limited to the Intermountain Region. Materials are available to browse in the Government Information Collection (northern aisle, wall shelves).
List of Soil Surveys in USU Collections, organized by state, location, and call number.