Primary Source Collections
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 (Gale Primary Sources)Digital collection offering a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century.
- Congressional Research Historical Archive (1830-2003)Indexes historical Congressional publications, including hearing and reports from both House and Senate as well as the Serial Set. Also includes CRS Reports, Committee Prints, and Serial Set Maps.
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetAll US Congress publications from 1789- .
- HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States.Note: Login required for some collections.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, 1851 - 2018New York Times in full text and full image from 1851 to 3 years ago. For current New York Times coverage, please use ProQuest U.S. Newsstream.
- USU Digital History Collections: Bear River WatershedThis USU digital collection includes photos, maps, diaries, papers, and reports about the geography, history, and development of the Bear River Watershed.
- Western WatersThe Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.
- Evolution of the American Conservation MovementThe Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
- National Archives CatalogAccess the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration. Only a fraction of their holdings have been digitized, so you will probably need to limit to "available online" once you have conducted your search.
Secondary Source Materials
- America: History and LifeCitations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the early 20th century.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. - Sustainability Science AbstractsThis is a subset of the ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (note that "Sustainability Science Abstracts content only" is checked under the search box), and it includes scholarly research on natural resources management, sustainable development, and related topics.
- ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
A Companion to American Environmental History by
A Companion to American Environmental History gathers together a comprehensive collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history. Provides a complete historiography of American environmental history Brings the field up-to-date to reflect the latest trends and encourages new directions for the field Includes the work of path-breaking environmental historians, from the founders of the field, to contributions from innovative young scholars Takes stock of the discipline through five topically themed parts, with essays ranging from American Indian Environmental Relations to Cities and Suburbs
ISBN: 9781405156653Publication Date: 2010-05-10
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability Vol. 8 by
The Americas and Oceania: Assessing Sustainability, Volume 8 of the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability, provides extensive coverage of sustainability practices in two regions linked culturally and historically by their relative isolation before the Columbian exchange, by their colonization after it, and by the challenges of pollution, resource overuse, and environmental degradation. Regional experts and international scholars focus on environmental history in areas such as the South Pacific islands, now particularly threatened by rising ocean levels due to climate change, and on countries whose governments and corporations can play a major role in promoting or discouraging sustainable choices: Brazil, an emergent power on the world stage; the United States, the world's third most populous nation; and New Zealand, seemingly on its way to becoming an enviable model of sustainable development.
ISBN: 9781933782188Publication Date: 2012-10-31
