Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HEP 6450: Key Resources

[HEP|6450]

Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students

As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.

Find Articles

The following article collections can help you find qualitative research studies:

Tip:

Article Linker button

Need the PDF/full-text?

Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.

Tip:

Need a book we don't own?

Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.

Conducting a Literature Review

PICK A TOPIC

What's the focus of you research? What are you focusing on? The library can help you choose an interesting and focused topic. Once you have a topic, do a preliminary search to see what you find, then narrow your topic based on what turns up. 

SELECT SEARCH TOOLS

Next, you want to pick where you're going to search. Pick multiple options - specialized databases, Google Scholar, library databases, etc... Think about your topic and where you'll find information to fit the different sub-topics related to your research. 

START SEARCHING

You can consult with a librarian to help you develop keywords and search strings, use subject searching and filtering to your advantage, and track down full text of sources.

CHOOSE SOURCES

Make sure you're capturing multiple perspectives on your issue or topic, not just a narrow view.  Evaluate your sources carefully for credibility and relevancy. 

READ, ANALYZE, ANNOTATE & SYNTHESIZE

Make your reading an active process by highlighting and taking notes. Consider using a matrix to organize your sources and identify scholarly conversations.

WRITE

Remember that your voice has a place in this conversation. Your analysis and organization is the glue of the lit review.