Skip to Main Content

Database Transitions: From EBSCO to ProQuest : Database Transitions

Database Changes

Access to several of USU Libraries' databases is provided by the State Library (Utah Education Network). After an extensive RFP process, ProQuest was selected as the database vendor for the academic institutions in Utah. As a result, we will be gaining access to new content and some of our coverage is changing. See below for details.

Changes in Coverage

Previous Databases 

(access ended 6/30)

Comparable New and Continuing Databases

(access starting 7/1)

Academic Search Premier + Ultimate

ProQuest Central *

Computer Source

Computer Science Database*

Association of Computing Machinery

IEEE Electronic Library

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Nursing & Allied Health Database*

UpToDate

CINAHL and CINAHL Complete

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library Science Database*

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literature LitFinder

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Book Review Index

Literary Index (Gale)

MEDLINE

Health & Medical Collection*

PubMed

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections

Psychology Database*

PsycInfo via EBSCOhost

* = new database 

Additional New Databases

We are excited to provide additional new database offerings through ProQuest in a number of fields to enhance subject coverage:

We will also have enhanced full-text journal content from these publishers in the ProQuest databases:

  • Springer Nature Palgrave Macmillan
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Emerald
  • BioMed Central
  • BMJ
  • Sage

Please note: USU Libraries has even more journal subscriptions outside of ProQuest or EBSCO databases. All subscriptions are linked on the Articles and Databases page. Those additional subscriptions are not changing.

Continuing EBSCO Databases

America: History and Life

FSTA Direct (Food Science & Technology)

Anthropological Literature Historical Abstracts

Art Full Text

Humanities International Complete
Business Source Premier Mental Measurement Yearbook w/TIP
CINAHL

MLA International Bibliography

CINAHL Complete Nursing Reference Center Plus
Communication & Mass Media Complete PsycInfo
EBSCO E-Book titles purchased by the library RILM (International Music Database)
Education Source SportDiscus
Fish & Fisheries Worldwide Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

CIDI and USU Libraries will be reaching out to faculty over the next month with instructions on how update links to Canvas courses in time for Fall semester. We will continue to share updates as we have them.

Please reach out to carol.kochan@usu.edu for license negotiation information or library.help@usu.edu if you have questions.