Map Resources
Maps are an essential tool in understanding the history of various environments. The resources linked on this page point to digital materials. Print maps are also available in the Map and Atlas collections at the Merrill-Cazier Library, on the lower level in the Government Information Department. Additional historic maps are available in Special Collections & Archives. Search inventory lists at the link below.
- USU Libraries Map CollectionsSearch for specific maps or browse our inventories at this link. Digital resources are also available.
Digital Maps
- Old Maps OnlineOldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps from archives and libraries worldwide. Combines searches from several sources, including USGS topographic maps.
- USGS TopoViewTopoView includes current and historic maps produced by the United States Geological Survey. This one-stop shop allows you to search for specific locals and view all available maps in one place.
- Historical Maps of the United States: Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionAccess a variety of maps of North America from the 19th and 20th centuries digitized by the University of Texas at Austin.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThis collection has over 55,000 maps and images. It focuses on 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, but also covers other parts of the world.
Library of Congress Map Collections
- Collections with MapsThis general links allows you to browse all Library of Congress digital collections that contain maps. Highlights include "Cities and Towns," Sanborn Maps, and Panoramic Maps.
- Mapping the National ParksThis collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks.
- Railroad Maps, 1828-1900The Railroad maps represent an important historical record, illustrating the growth of travel and settlement as well as the development of industry and agriculture in the United States. Contains 623 maps chosen from more than 3,000 railroad maps and about 2,000 regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century.
Map Background & Tools
- Google Earth ProGoogle Earth Pro on desktop is free for users with advanced feature needs. Import and export GIS data, and go back in time with historical imagery. Available on PC, Mac, or Linux.
- How to Read Maps as Historical TextsAn introductory article on how to read, interpret, and analyze maps that includes a glossary of terms.
- GIS LoungeLinks to tutorials, example projects, and updates aobut GIS conferences and jobs. GIS Lounge is an information portal primarily relating to the field of geographic information systems. The purpose of this site is to provide introductory text for issues relating to GIS as well as interesting news items, tips, and resources for the geospatial field.
Government Information Librarian
Access & Troubleshooting
Having problems accessing resources?
See our Online Access page for help.
