Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA PowerPoint: Corrected Citations
This is the presentation shared with the class when I visited your class to talk about APA style.
Theories & Biographical Information: Find Books
This assignment asks you to gather sources that provide evidence and support for the following three major elements of your paper:
- Describe the theory (Discuss the important elements of the theory)
- Include a concise biography of the theorist who developed the theory
- Describe important critiques or gaps in the theory or theorist
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
Books will be particularly useful to learn the basic elements of theories, how they were developed, and who developed them. They will also often contain biographical information on the theorist. Depending on how notorious the theorist, there may be entire books just focusing on biographical information. Try searches that combine your concepts by using the term AND if you want to see both your concepts together or OR if you want to see either concept in your search, like this:
- Attachment Theory OR Bowlby
Your search will retrieve any results that mention either the theorist (Bowlby) or the theory (Attachment).
If you want to see primary sources, you could search for the theorist as the author, l like this:
This search will retrieve books and media written by Piaget himself.
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Oxford Reference Online
Search hundreds of e-books at once for introductory information on research topics. Oxford Reference also offers detailed searchable timelines.
Critiquing Theories: Find Articles
Articles will be particularly useful in finding various critiques of your theory and theorist. You may need to try multiple databases; typically, article databases produce a lot more results than the library catalog. You can use the same strategy above to combine concepts together using the term AND, like this:
- Skinner AND Operant Conditioning
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
Academic Search Ultimate
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
ERIC via EBSCO Host
A large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.