Top databases for 2660
You might be familiar with a database called Academic Search Ultimate from other classes. But there are a few, specialized databases that have more content related to HDFS. Here are the top three databases I recommend for exploring your HDFS 2660 topic:
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
For tips on how to best use PsycINFO, check out these resources:
Quick how-to video:
Interactive tutorial:
http://library2.usu.edu/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/searching-psycinfo
(Tip: If the tutorial won't work, clear your cache or try the link in Chrome.)
- Professional Development Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text article database for professional educators offering information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. - ERIC via EBSCO Host
- This link opens in a new window
A large, online digital library of education research and information, inlcuding scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with an EBSCO interface.
Reading strategies
When doing research in HDFS, you might feel overwhelmed by all the information that's out there. Even within scholarly article databases like PsycINFO and EducationSource, you can find yourself facing thousands of peer-reviewed articles on your topic!
This video gives you a few strategies to skim the articles you find so you can tell if they fit your needs. It also covers some tips for using your search results to help you narrow your research topic.
- How to read a social science journal article
This guide (Laubepin/ICPSR 2013) breaks down the parts of a social science journal article, suggests reading strategies, and reviews where to find specific information within an article.
Off Campus Access
You can access ibrary databases, e-journals, and e-books from home or anywhere off-campus.
Just start your search from the USU library website, Canvas, or a library research guide and you'll be prompted for your A# and password to authenticate.
What if we don't own it?
Did you find something you need that we don't own? You can request it from another library, whether it's an article scan or a book.
Just login to your inter-library services account with your A# and password to make your request.
