Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examples of articles about communication strategies for college students & vaccines
Chou, W.-Y. S., & Budenz, A. (2020). Considering Emotion in COVID-19 Vaccine Communication: Addressing Vaccine Hesitancy and Fostering Vaccine Confidence. Health Communication, 35(14), 1718–1722. https://doi.org/10.1080/10410236.2020.1838096
Among various efforts to address vaccine hesitancy and foster vaccine confidence, evidence-based communication strategies are critical. There are opportunities to consider the role of emotion in communication efforts. In this commentary, we highlight several ways negative as well as positive emotions may be considered and leveraged.
DeLauer, V., McGill-O’Rourke, A., Gordon, C., Hamilton, N., Desruisseaux, R., DuarteCanela, M., Heyer, A., & Macksoud, K. (2020). Human papillomavirus and health decision-making: Perceptions and accountability in college. Health Education Journal, 79(1),
Study findings highlight the need for improved communication about sex and general preventive health care between young adults, their parents and health providers, including the campus health services centre. Findings point to the importance of appropriate health care messaging at the time of the HPV vaccine (if given in adolescence) throughout college.
Ruiz, J. B., & Bell, R. A. (2021). Predictors of intention to vaccinate against COVID-19: Results of a nationwide survey. Vaccine, 39(7), 1080–1086. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.vaccine.2021.01.010
Public polling indicates that vaccine uptake will be sub-optimal when COVID-19 vaccines become available. Formative research seeking an understanding of weak vaccination intentions is urgently needed.
Vorpahl, M. M., & Yang, J. Z. (2018). Who Is to Blame? Framing HPV to Influence Vaccination Intentions among College Students. Health Communication, 33(5), 620–627. https://doi.org/10.1080/10410236.2017.1289436
Although previous research has studied HPV-related health communication strategies using various framing techniques, the goal of this study is to test how two unique message frames--whether mentioning HPV as an STI and whether to attribute the cause of infection as external or internal-- would influence young adults' intentions to receive the recommended HPV vaccine. Results indicate that gender and causal attribution framing influenced participants' intentions to receive the HPV vaccine.
Academic Search Ultimate
Large collection of articles and information on a very wide range of topics; contains scholarly articles and magazine and newspaper articles.
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
Business Source Premier
A large collection of business information, including articles from scholarly, business and trade publications, SWOT analyses, and book chapters.
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Journalism and Communications Journals and Articles Databases
Communication & Mass Media Complete
A key resource for scholarly research in communication studies and mass media.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ProQuest Newsstand (Global Newsstream)
Full-text access to US and international news sources. Includes coverage of The New York Times and The Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
How to Read Research Articles