Free Online Resources
- African American Music TimelineCarnegie Hall timeline of African American music history, by By Portia K. Maultsby, Ph.D. and Earl Stewart, Ph.D.
- Archives of African American Music and CultureA project of Indiana University, the special collections at the AAAMC contain unique materials documenting a wide range of topics and musical genres.
- African American Music at the SmithsonianAn online "selection of the Smithsonian's wide range of collections preserving the material history of African American musical history."
- Rock & Roll Hall of Fame: Online Education"Rock Hall EDU, our free digital learning platform, is full of resources and activities that use the power of rock & roll to engage students of all ages."
- Hiphop Archive & Research Institute"The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute curates all forms of Hiphop material culture including recordings, videos, websites, films, original papers, works, references, productions, conferences, meetings, interviews, publications, research, formal proceedings, etc."
- The Spirituals Database"The Spirituals Database offers searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from a century of historic and contemporary concert spiritual recordings produced on compact discs, long-playing (33 1/3 rpm) albums, 78 rpm records, 45 rpm discs, audio cassettes and streamed audio files, as well as demonstration recordings from musical score collections."
- AfriClassicalA website devoted to "African heritage in Classical music," including coverage of composers, conductors, and performers from Africa, Europe, and the United States.
- Black Music History LibraryA "living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day."
- Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation and Freedom: Primary Sources (Harvard)"Over one thousand curated items that help tell the story of African American life and history in the continental United States and the Caribbean."
- BlackPastA comprehensive online reference center, including encyclopedia entries and primary source documents.
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryOnline access to "primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others" about "the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s."
- African American Sheet MusicAfrican American sheet music digitized by Brown University and covering approximately 1840-1950.
Digital Archives through USU Libraries
- Making of AmericaA digital library of primary sources in American social history. The scope includes the Antebellum period through Reconstruction.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources)Primary source database primarily including documents from the United States and Europe related to slavery and abolition. In addition to newspapers and books published in the U.S. antebellum era, the database includes manuscripts and documents. Access is provided to two modules of this collection: Debates Over Slavery and Abolition and Slave Trade in the Atlantic World.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998African American Newspapers provides online access to more than 350 US newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
- Accessible ArchivesThis database provides access to vast quantities of diverse primary source materials, including newspapers, magazines, books, and American county histories, reflecting broad views across American history and culture across the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries.
- Adam Matthew: Race Relations in AmericaThis archival collection from Fisk University's Race Relations Department documents three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, and showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department's staff and Institute participants, including Charles S Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
- Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great SocietyAn archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Technology, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Society, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Sciences, Welding, Wildland Resources, World Language and Cultures
