Journal Articles
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureProvides articles on topics within traditional, popular, and classical music.
- America: History and LifeCitations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the early 20th century.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
Books and E-books
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
Examples of books and e-books covering topics in African American music history in the collection:
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of African American MusicEdited by Emmett G. Price III, Tammy L. Kernodle, and Horace J. Maxile, Jr. Published 2011. Print only.
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online allows you to search across top music reference sources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Here you'll find detailed composer biographies, historical background, analysis, works lists, and more.
- Volume 3: The United States and Canada | The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Musics offers a comprehensive view of music as a vital part of the social and cultural life of people around the world. Volume 3 covers the United States. Print only.
- Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African MusiciansBy Eileen Southern. Published 1982. Print only.
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Technology, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Society, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Sciences, Welding, Wildland Resources, World Language and Cultures
