Journal Articles
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureProvides articles on topics within traditional, popular, and classical music.
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. - Social Services AbstractsIndexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- ERIC via the US Department of EducationA large, online digital library of education research and information, including scholarly journals and education related documents, including reports, policy papers, dissertations, conference papers and others. Some full text is available. Provided with the open access interface (freely available to everyone).
AMTA Journals
This video gives a quick overview of how you can search for articles directly in the Journal of Music Therapy and Music Therapy Perspectives, two major journals in the field published by the American Music Therapy Association (AMTA).
Can't find the PDF of an article you want? Request it (free to you) via InterLibrary Loan.
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online allows you to search across top music reference sources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- Social Worker's Desk Reference (4th edition, 2022)Short chapters with links to further resources, collaboratively written by major figures in the field.
- Encyclopedia of Social WorkCo-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, this online encyclopedia is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in the field. Contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
Statistics
- StatistaGeneral quantitative data on an easy-to-use searchable platform. Covers thousands of sources and topics, with infographics that are easy to share or embed on a webpage.
- CDC Data & StatisticsA collection of data, statistics, and tools from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- NIMH StatisticsAn extensive collection of the National Institute of Mental Health's best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental health disorders.
- SAMHSA Substance Abuse & Mental Health DataData from the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
Therapy Demos
- Psychotherapy.net Video CollectionsStreaming videos on psychotherapy and related topics, browsable by approach, therapeutic issue, expert, or population.
- Alexander Street Academic Video OnlineDemos, instructional videos, and documentaries. Go to the "Psychology & Counseling" subject to browse or search. If you want to refine your results further, the "Content Type" filter on the left-hand side has an option for "Counseling Session."
Library Help
Library Help
Contact:
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Animal, Dairy & Veterinary Sciences, Anthropology, Applied Economics, Applied Sciences, Technology, & Education, Arts, Automotive Technology, Aviation & Technical Education, Biological Engineering, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Communication Studies, Communicative Disorders & Deaf Education, Computer Science, Concurrent Enrollment/High School, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement, Data Management, Data Sets, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Digital Humanities, Economics & Finance, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Education, English 1010/2010, Environment & Society, Geography, Geosciences, Human Development & Family Studies, Images, Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, Interior Design, Intersectional Gender Studies & Research, Journalism & Communication, Kinesiology & Health Science, Landscape Architecture, Library & Information Science, Management, Marketing & Strategy, Mathematics & Statistics, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, Music, Newspapers, Nursing, Nutrition, Dietetics & Food Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Plant, Soils & Climate, Political Science & Law, Psychology, Research Tips, Social Work, Sociology and Anthropology, Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling, Statistical Information, Technology, Design, and Technical Education, Theater Arts, Theses & Dissertations, Utah's Online Library, Veterinary Medicine, Visual Arts, Watershed Sciences, Welding, Wildland Resources, World Language and Cultures
Books and E-Books
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
How Do I...?
Access Articles?
- Finding Full-Text via Article LinkerEver find an article but for some reason you can't access the full text? If so then this guide is here to help walk you through getting access!
- Finding Specific JournalsThis guide will help you find journals by title - either in print or online.
Develop Search Strategies?
- Choosing Keywords (video)This video will walk you through how to choose and effectively use keywords to find articles in library databases.
- Finding Related SourcesThis guide will walk you through how to find sources related to your topic and the research you are doing.
Conduct a Lit Review?
For more help, check out all our Research Tips.
Resources for Clinical Practice
- DSM-5-TRDSM-5 Text Revision released March 2022.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)Here you can access an online edition of the DSM-5. This authoritative volume defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
- Treatment PlannersA list of e-book versions of treatment planners available through the USU Libraries.
Research Methods
- SAGE Research MethodsLinks over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal, and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
- APA Handbook of Research Methods in PsychologyIn three volumes, this handbook provides information on tools used in psychology research design, measurement, and analysis. These volumes describe many techniques psychologists and others have developed to help understand why humans, think, feel, and behave the way they do.
- Pocket Guides to Social Work Research MethodsA series from Oxford University Press. In print at the library.
