Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Transition from Web of Science to Scopus: Content
Comparisons

BIBLIOGRAPHY ON CONTENT AND FEATURES

Health Libraries Wiki International. Scopus vs. Web of Science. Updated 2017. http://hlwiki.slais.ubc.ca/index.php/Scopus_vs._Web_of_Science

Powell & Peterson (2017). Coverage and Quality: A Comparison of Web of Science and Scopus Databases for Reporting Faculty Nursing Publication Metrics. Nursing Outlook. DOI: 10.1016/j.outlook.2017.03.004

University of Washington Health Sciences Library. Scopus vs. Web of Science. Updated 2016. http://guides.lib.uw.edu/c.php?g=99232&p=642081

Boston College. Scopus and Web of Science Comparison Chart. Updated 2016. http://libguides.bc.edu/BC2016Scopus/Scopus_V_WebofScience

Mongeon & Paul-Hus (2016). The journal coverage of Web of Science and Scopus: A comparative analysis. Scientometrics. DOI: 10.1007/s11192-015-1765-5 

Harzing & Alakangas (2016). Google Scholar, Scopus and the Web of Science: a longitudinal and cross-disciplinary comparison. Scientometrics. DOI: 10.1007/s11192-015-1798-9

Wagner (2015). A Practical Comparison of Scopus and Web of Science Core Collection. Presentation at UNY Science Librarians Meeting. https://repository.buffalo.edu/xmlui/handle/10477/38568

Chadegani et al. (2013). A Comparison between Two Main Academic Literature Collections: Web of Science and Scopus Databases. Asian Social Science. DOI: 10.5539/ass.v9n5p18

Vieira & Gomes (2009). A comparison of Scopus and Web of Science for a typical university. Scientometrics. DOI: 10.1007/s11192-009-2178-0

Kulkarni et al. (2009). Comparisons of Citations in Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar for Articles Published in General Medical Journals. JAMA. DOI: 10.1001/jama.2009.1307

Salinas et al. (2009). Ranking of departments and researchers within a university using two different databases: Web of Science versus Scopus. Scientometrics. DOI: 10.1007/s11192-008-2113-9

Salisbury (2009). Web of Science and Scopus: A Comparative Review of Content and Searching Capabilities. Charleston Advisor. https://login.dist.lib.usu.edu/login?url=http://charleston.publisher.ingentaconnect.com/content/charleston/chadv/2009/00000011/00000001/art00005

Haddow (2008). An evaluation of citation databases as sources of data in research assessment exercises: A report commissioned by the Libraries of the Australian Technology Network (LATN). http://archive.caul.edu.au/scholcomm/latn2008citation-databases.doc

Falagas, et al. (2007). Comparison of PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar: strengths and weaknesses. The FASEB Journal. DOI: 10.1096/fj.07-9492LSF