Research Methods
Due to the time frame of the publications and the internal record systems of USU libraries prior to 1976, most of the Women's Bureau collection is not cataloged. There is a shelf-list available for the physical documents present in the collection.
Accessibility
The Government Publishing Office distributes documents in a variety of ways. USU has collected Women's Bureau documents in the following formats.
- Print Sources
- Microfiche
- Online (digitized print material)
The print materials are part of the circulating collection and can be checked out at the Circulation Desk.
Finding Materials
- Contact the Gov Info LibrarianJen Kirk, jen.kirk@usu.edu
- Library CatalogThe USU Library catalog includes records for government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. Start here and be sure to check the format type. You can limit your search to government materials by using the Advanced Search and limiting your "Material Type" to "Government Document"
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe federal government's catalog of post-1976 materials. It provides links to digitized historic material on federal websites.
- Marcive Web: Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsIndex to government publications from 1976 to the present.
- HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. It's U.S. Federal Documents Program provides open access to over 1 million documents produced by the federal government.
USU Resources
USU Office of Equity
"Utah State University believes in fostering respect and dignity for all members of the USU community. University policy prohibits discrimination and harassment including sexual misconduct... The Office of Equity is the unit designated by the University to enforce state and federal law (including Title IX) and University policies related to sexual misconduct, discrimination, equal opportunity, and affirmative action."
Women and Gender Issues Society
"The Women and Gender Issues Society is the Women and Gender Program's student club at Utah State University. They are involved in women's rights and gender issues on the student level."
USU Center for Intersectional Gender Studies and Research
"The Center for Intersectional Gender Studies and Research builds on the long and successful history of women and gender programs at USU...We provide a broad range of support to faculty and students who are interested in issues of gender and intersectionality, especially as they relate to... race, ethnicity and Indigenous studies; sexuality and the body; global and transnational issues, and; science, technology and the environment."
About this Guide
This guide was created in collaboration with USU's ENGL 5400 course, Technology and Activism. The class, under the direction of Dr. Avery Edenfield, examined the role of ethics and social justice in technology use and facilitated independent research projects centered on investigating those relationships. This research guide was designed to explore the communication and language of the Women's Bureau documents within their historic period as well as their modern implications.
Guide Author
Nicole Hurst has undergraduate degrees in English, with an emphasis in Technical Communications and Rhetoric, and Economics from Utah State University. During her time at USU, she was a student staff member of the Government Information Collection, part of Special Collections & Archives at the Merrill-Cazier Library.
Vanessa Garcia Vazquez has undergraduate degrees in English, with an emphasis in Technical Communications and Rhetoric, and Criminal Justice from Utah State University. During her time at USU, she was a student staff member of the Government Information Collection, part of Special Collections & Archives at the Merrill-Cazier Library.
