It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Water Resources: Key Resources
This guide showcases resources and research tips related to the documentation of Water Resources in Utah and the Intermountain West.
The Bear River Watershed's geography, history, and development are the primary focus of this collection of images, maps, papers, and reports. Funded by grants from the Utah State University Water Initiative, this project digitizes selected materials cited in the Bear River Watershed Historical Bibliography, including photographs of the Bear River from the 1860s to the 1990s, manuscripts and records of local irrigation companies, and research on the societal impact of reclamation development in the Bear River Basin. Originals are housed in Utah State University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives.
The Bear River Watershed digital collection is part of a collaborative regional digital project called Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL). Consisting of digital collections from many western U.S. academic research libraries, the WWDL offers centralized searching of materials related to water in the Western U.S.
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. It includes a large amount of historic documents produced by the federal government.
Titles in the public domain are freely available to view as full text; those not included in the public domain (under copyright) are available for limited viewing.
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material. (From WWDL)
Search land patents archived by the Bureau of Land Management. The site "provide[s] live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. We also have images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records."