Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
USU Books & E-Books Examples
These are just a few examples of books and e-books available from the USU Library Catalog. To search for others, type your search terms in the Quick Search box on the Library homepage, and then find and apply either the “Book (Print)” or “Ebook” filter under “Format” in the left sidebar. Note that you may need to click “more” to find those options in the list and that they will not appear in the list if there are no results in that format for your search term.
Special Collections & Archives
Below you'll find representative samples of primary sources and other materials from the Special Collections & Archives. To search the collections, enter your search terms and select the appropriate box. For manuscripts, folklore, and photographs, select "Inventories." For books and pamphlets, select the "Library Catalog." To find materials that have already been digitized, select "Digital Library."
Bring the bibliography below to the Special Collections Reading Room during operating hours to view materials on-site.
Anti-Suffrage: Ten Good Reasons
Anti-suffragists opposed the push for the 19th amendment. This book “is concerned with answering the arguments of suffragists who claim the full rights of citizenship for all women.”
Are Women People? A Book of Rhymes for Suffrage Times
Published in 1915, this book features a collection of poems documenting the push for suffrage. Many of the poems were originally posted in the New York Tribune.
Accessible Archives Women’s Suffrage Collection
This collection of newspapers includes The Lily (1849-1856); National Citizen & Ballot Box (1878-1881); The Revolution (1868-1872); The New Citizen (1909-1912); The Western Woman Voter (1911-1913); and The Remonstrance (1890-1913).
These are just a few examples of online videos available from the USU Library Catalog. To search for others, type your search terms in the Quick Search box on the Library homepage, and then find and apply the “Streaming Video” filter under “Format” in the left sidebar. Note that you may need to click “more” to find “Streaming Video” in the list and that it will not appear in the list if there are no results in that format for your search term.
Use the search term “woman suffrage” and limit your search by either date (1880-1920) or by Congressional Committee. The Senate held hearings and produced reports on the subject under both the Committee on the Judiciary and the Committee on Woman Suffrage.
Congressional Record, Senate, June 4, 1919
The Senate passed the 19th Amendment on June 4, 1919. Read the official record of their debates – free from the Government Publishing Office. Senators Smoot and King represented Utah.
Questions, Kudos, or Comments?
For general comments, contact the Library Information Desk at Library.Help@usu.edu. Search the Subject Liaison List to contact your liaison librarian about finding discipline-specific materials related to women’s suffrage or about contributing to this guide.