Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Carrie Chapman Catt Papers
Carrie Chapman Catt was a feminist lecturer and author who also served as the president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association. This digitized collection from the Library of Congress includes correspondence, diaries (1911-1923), drafts of speeches and articles, dating from 1890-1920, relating primarily to the women's suffrage movement, feminism, and the cause of international peace.
HathiTrust U.S. Women’s Suffrage Collection
This curated collection includes materials available in full-text from HathiTrust (USU login required for download). Examples of documents include citizenship preparation materials for women, histories of the suffrage movement, and government documents related to suffrage. The collection is publicly-accessible and searchable.
The Anti-Suffrage Movement: National Archives DocsTeach
This collection features primary sources and activities about the Anti-Suffrage Movement from the U.S. National Archives.
Woman’s Place in America: Congress and Woman Suffrage
Lesson plan and materials from the Center for Legislative Archives and the National Archives geared toward grades 8-12. Primary source documents include petitions, correspondence, and legislative records sent to Congress during 19th Amendment debate.
The Senate and Women’s Fight for the Vote
Online exhibit from the U.S. Senate featuring correspondence, photographs, political cartoons, and government documents about the push for equal suffrage through constitutional amendment.
Part of Library of Congress, American Memory Project, a selection of digitized photographs of National Women’s Party activists who were arrested and imprisoned for their activities.
National Women’s Party Chronology
The National Women’s Party was one of many women’s groups pushing for suffrage in the United States. This document offers a timeline of their activities. The document was produced by the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project.
Women's Suffrage Across Disciplines
Science and Suffrage
Women filled crucial science and engineering roles during World War I, which had important effects on progress toward the 19th Amendment.
Women’s Suffrage in Art
Article and images for and against women’s suffrage from Radford University.
Women’s Suffrage in Sheet Music
Women's Suffrage in Sheet Music includes over 200 pieces of sheet music spanning the years 1838-1923, from rally songs to manuscripts submitted from everyday citizens. Opposing views are also included, capturing the music and lyrics of the Anti-suffragist movement.
Women’s Suffrage Teacher’s Guide
Set of primary sources and teaching material from the Library of Congress for K-12 teachers.
Questions, Kudos, or Comments?
For general comments, contact the Library Information Desk at Library.Help@usu.edu. Search the Subject Liaison List to contact your liaison librarian about finding discipline-specific materials related to women’s suffrage or about contributing to this guide.