Accessing Library Resources and Materials
Use the links in this guide or in Canvas, or links on the library home page to use library databases and find books and articles and other library resources. These links are formatted to ask you for your A# and password if they are needed for access.
As an alternative, you can use the USU VPN. Instructions for installing the VPN are found here.
Find Articles
- ProQuest Central
This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
ALSO:
The Merrill-Cazier Library at USU subscribes to Lean Library, a browser plug-in that alerts you when online content is available through the library while you are doing your research both on and off-campus. Lean Library works no matter how you do your research (from databases, using Google Scholar, or from links provided by your professor). More on Lean Library.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseThis database includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- ScopusDatabase of peer-reviewed journal articles. Full text is not included, but Article Linker provides access to full-text articles when available.
- Ecology AbstractsThis is a subset of the ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (note that "Ecology Abstracts content only" is checked under the search box), and it contains current ecology research (from 1982 to present).
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideThis database includes a global perspective on wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians.
Find Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need strategies for reading academic journal articles?
Use this reading guide from the library to help you understand the major sections of academic articles and develop strategies for quickly understanding them. Or check out the handout linked below for more details.
Need Help?
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
