Tutorial Video
The databases on this page will help you locate secondary source literature in the field of history, primarily articles and dissertations. Read through the tips and reminders on this page; however, the best way to become an accomplished searcher is to spend time with these tool and to ask questions when things don't make sense. There is almost certainly a database that aggregates material related to your topic. If you are struggling, contact a librarian.
Dissertation Databases
- Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts)Doctoral dissertations and some masters' theses from many North American graduate schools and some European universities. Full text is available for publications since 1997; citations and abstracts are available from earlier years (as far back as the late 19th century).
History Subject Databases
- Historical AbstractsWorld history and culture citation-and-abstract database.
- America: History and Life
This link opens in a new window
Citations to the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the early 20th century.
Fulltext Journal Collections (JSTOR, etc.)
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal collection, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. - Project MuseMultidisciplinary e-journal collection for humanities and social sciences. Muse contains nearly 600 quality journal titles from 120 scholarly publishers and is operated by the Johns Hopkins University Press.
