Tutorial to Access Primary Sources through USU's Website
Tutorial coming Monday, September 3rd
Primary Source Collections Related to the American West
- Mountain West Digital LibraryEasy-to-use search portal for finding online text, images, and sound files from libraries and archives in Utah, Nevada, and Idaho.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism (Gale Archives Unbound)FBI files illustrate the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Contains informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI, providing insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM after the Civil Rights Movement.
- Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S (Gale Archives Unbound)Primary-document collection of two major responses to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The Meriam Report and a 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs both provide insights into tribal conditions of the time, including among the Sioux, Navaho (Navajo), Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and other tribes.
Primary Source Collections Related to the History of the United States
- Colonial State PapersPrimary source documents of the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries from the earliest English settlements in North America.
- Evans Text Creation Partnership (TCP)Full text searching of titles in the Evans Bibliography of works printed in America from 1639-1800. These titles are also included in the Early American Imprints database through the Readex platform.
- Making of AmericaA digital library of primary sources in American social history.
- Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832–1978 (Gale Primary Sources)This digital archive contains is an online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions.
- North American Women's Letters and DiariesPrimary-source material documenting women's experience in the United States.
- Presidential Recordings ProgramFrom 1940 to 1973, US presidents secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of in-person and telephone conversations. This includes the administrations of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry S. Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Lyndon B. Johnson, John F. Kennedy, and Richard M. Nixon. Includes audio files and transcripts of United States presidents' conversations.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 (Gale Primary Sources)Digital collection offering a perspective on life in the western hemisphere, encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century.
- Accessible ArchivesThis database provides access to vast quantities of diverse primary source materials, including newspapers, magazines, books, and American county histories, reflecting broad views across American history and culture across the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries.
Primary Source Collections Related to Europe
- Acta SanctorumEncyclopedic Latin text examining the lives of Christian saints, organized by each saint's feast day. This resource is a principal source for research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe. Our knowledge of this period relies heavily on hagiographical literature, and specifically on this monumental collection of texts, published over a period of 300 years by the Societe des Bollandistes.
- Cecil PapersThe Cecil Papers are a privately held archive, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son, Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612).
- Early English Books OnlineDigitized books from the Short Title Catalog .
Note: Use the EEBO Text Creation Partnership interface for full text searching of the Short Title Catalog books.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)Eighteenth-century English-language texts digitized from the holdings of the British Library. Most works originated in the British Isles but thousands of important North American works are also included, encompassing approximately 180,000 titles. The database is full text and full image.
- State Papers Online: The Tudors, Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I 1509-1714 (State Papers Domestic)16th- and 17th-century British government documents, primarily from the papers of the Secretaries of State. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants, and provincial administrators are included along with searchable pages of calendars and catalogues.
Primary Source Collections Related to Global History
- Latin American NewspapersThis online collection provides more than 50 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
- Shen Bao Digital ArchiveA digital archive of the Shanghai-based newspaper. The archive covers the full run of the paper, from 1872 to 1949.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources)Primary source database primarily including documents from the United States and Europe related to slavery and abolition. In addition to newspapers and books published in the U.S. antebellum era, the database includes manuscripts and documents. Access is provided to two modules of this collection: Debates Over Slavery and Abolition and Slave Trade in the Atlantic World.
Digitized Newspapers and Magazines
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 (Gale Primary Sources)Historical content from the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. This archival collection features full-image display of every article ever published in the Illustrated London News, representing an era of experimentation and evolution in journalism.
- LIFE MagazineProduced by Google, this is a freely available, fully digitized archive of LIFE Magazine during its years as a weekly magazine owned by Time, Inc. (1936-1972). It begins with volume 1, number 1 on November 23, 1936, and ends with volume 73, number 25 on December 29, 1972.
- USU Digital History Collections: Logan Historical Newspaper Collection, 1879-1892Historical Logan Herald Journal and its earlier incarnations.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals CollectionThis database provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
- American Periodicals Series OnlineFull text database ranging from 1740 to 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically significant periodicals.
- Early American Newspapers: From Colonies to NationCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers. Provides more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection is based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820."
- National Geographic Virtual LibraryDigital collection offering access to the complete archive of National Geographic magazine, along with a cross-searchable collection of books, maps, images, and videos from 1888 to 1994.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, 1851 - 2018New York Times in full text and full image from 1851 to 3 years ago. For current New York Times coverage, please use ProQuest U.S. Newsstream.
- Times Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources)The complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured up to 1985, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. The Sunday Times is not included.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, 1881-1997Los Angeles Times in full text and full image.
Digitized Books
- HathiTrust
This link opens in a new window
The HathiTrust is a shared digital repository, incorporating digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States.Note: Login required for some collections.
Historic U.S. Government Information
- Monthly Catalog of US Government PublicationsIndex to government publications published from 1895 to 1976. Contains full-text records and page images of the monthly publication records of the US Government Printing Office. Records are arranged alphabetically by department or issuing agency, and may be searched or browsed.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale Primary Sources)Digital collection providing access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database.
- ProQuest CongressionalThis comprehensive database of U.S. Legislative information contains the full-text of bills (1989 to date), laws (1988 to date), the Federal Register (1980 to date), the Code of Federal Regulations, the National Journal (1980 to date), information on members of congress, committees, and congressional publications.
- Congressional Research Historical Archive (1830-2003)Indexes historical Congressional publications, including hearing and reports from both House and Senate as well as the Serial Set. Also includes CRS Reports, Committee Prints, and Serial Set Maps.
Historic Census and Statistical Data
- Social ExplorerCurrent and historical census data and demographic information for the United States with tools to create thematic maps, interactive maps, and customized reports.
- Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.Statistical reference database containing information on social, political, and economic conditions, collected by the United States Census Bureau; includes downloadable graphs and charts.
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesIncludes annual time series of statistical historical information covering quantifiable dimension of American history--population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations--all from the earliest times to the present.
