Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mormonism: Guide to Materials and Resources: Globalization Era (1945-present)

The Special Collections & Archives department of the Merrill-Cazier Library contains a multitude of useful resources relating to Mormonism. This guide will provide an introduction to some of the materials, as well as additional resources.

Globalization Era (1945-present)

After World War II, the study of Mormonism became more prominent, resulting in a number of useful secondary sources, fieldwork projects, and theses or dissertations unique to USU. Beginning with the presidency of David O. McKay (1951-1970) the LDS Church established a permanent presence in countries around the world, including:

  • The church consolidated its publications in the 1970s, translating periodicals and scriptures into multiple languages
  • Latter-day Saints became involved in many of the political controversies of the era, including debates over the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA)
  • Media - radio, television, and the internet - became a valuable tool for the distribution of religious content throughout the worldwide church
  • Groups ranging from evangelical Christians to feminists and LGBTQ activists, as well as many dissenters from within the church, were openly critical of LDS Church doctrines and policies

Special Collections & Archives records for this time period are diverse, with many - such as historical post cards, oral histories, and some visual histories - available digitally. Others, such as the Gary Horlacher surveys or the Mormons for ERA collection, address the growing scope of Mormon scholarship in relation to LGBTQ+ rights and gender politics.

Journals & Autobiographies

Local Leadership & Congregations

Utah State University's location in Cache Valley, Utah contains a good deal of rich history, much of which is related to Mormonism. The city was founded in 1859 by Mormon settlers, and maintains a large population of Latter-day Saints. Over time Special Collections & Archives has collected a number of congregational records, commemorative histories, and information about historical religious leaders.

Anti-Mormon Publications

Individuals, organizations, or publications that are directly critical of the LDS church and its doctrines are often referred to as being anti-Mormon, although many of these individuals or groups would not identify with that term. Regardless, these resources can provide insight into contemporary attitudes toward Mormonism. 

Mormon Life

Non-LDS Group Publications

Non-English Resources

As the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has grown over the years, more and more texts have been produced or translated in a variety of languages. Special Collections & Archives houses some of these resources, including a number of Book of Mormon translations. 

Special Collections Librarian

Need Quick Help?

Chat with a Librarian: