Introduction to Resources on Mormonism
Originating with the visions of Joseph Smith Jr. beginning in 1820, in the midst of the Second Great Awakening, Mormonism has a rich history comprised of over 200 years of records, studies, and histories. The Special Collections & Archives of the Merrill-Cazier Library houses more than 1000 manuscripts and photograph collections, and over 100,000 books. One of the largest repositories of Mormon materials outside of the LDS Church History Library and Brigham Young University, these holdings are an incredible resource for scholars and students of Mormonism. This guide highlights a number of collections in the Special Collections & Archives, though it is by no means an exhaustive list.
Special Collections & Archives houses a wide variety of primary source materials, many of which are firsthand accounts of early Mormon settlement in Utah, Idaho, Nevada, and Arizona. Some of Utah's most prominent historians are represented here - including Leonard J. Arrington, S. George Ellsworth, and Valeen T. Avery. Several collections deal with leaders of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, including some in the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. Special Collections & Archives also houses a number of missionary diaries and correspondence that document Mormon mission work on an international level. In addition, Special Collections & Archives also collects materials from groups that separated from Smith's Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (here referred to as "non-LDS groups") or are critical of the religion.
Collection Highlights
- Leonard J. Arrington papers, 1839-1999 byCall Number: LJAHA COLL 1Publication Date: 1839-1999Includes materials accumulated during Arrington's professional life as a teacher, historian, and church historian for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; his personal life, including his personal and family papers; materials accumulated during his researches in the history of Utah, the history of Mormons, and the Great Depression and the New Deal; and Arrington's writings.
- Valeen T. Avery papers byCall Number: COLL MSS 316Publication Date: 1975-2005This collection contains the papers of Valeen T. Avery spanning the period of 1975-2005. Items include materials related to Avery's books, writings, class notes, faculty and student evaluations, conference and lecture material, material related to the Mormon History Association, correspondence, miscellaneous articles and essays, and general office files.
- Austin and Alta S. Fife collection on Mormon foklore byCall Number: USU_FOLK COLL 4 no.1Publication Date: 1946Tapes, recordings, bound transcriptions of interviews, bound typescripts of excerpts from manuscript collections, and bound typescripts of materials found in printed sources focusing on Mormon folksongs and narratives.
- Papers of S. George Ellsworth byCall Number: COLL MSS 228Publication Date: 1916-1997USU hails George Ellsworth as its first archivist. Being both a keeper as well as a user of primary documents made George' s approach to Utah history unique. An advocate for balance and impartiality, Ellsworth also encouraged the study of history from all angles.
- Mormons for ERA, 1977-1993 (1979-1983) byCall Number: COLL MSS 225Publication Date: 1977-1993The collection pertains to the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), its legislation, ratification process and the many other complex issues involving the pro-ERA movement, and anti-ERA groups. A substantial amount of material relates to the LDS Church and its official stand against ERA. One of the main focal points of the collection is the excommunication of Sonia Johnson from the LDS Church.
This guide is not an exhaustive list of Mormon materials available in the Special Collections & Archives. If you have a specific topic in mind or would like to search for resources that may not be represented here, use the catalog search bar below or contact a Special Collections Librarian.
Special Collections Librarian
Need Quick Help?
Chat with a Librarian:
Acknowledgements
This guide was researched, organized and compiled by Department of History MA student Megan Fairbanks, under the direction of Special Collections Librarian and Curator Jennifer Duncan and Leonard J. Arrington Chair of Mormon History and Culture Patrick Mason.
The resources in this guide were identified as part of a collaborative project between Utah State University Special Collections and Archives, and the Utah State Religious Studies Program.
