Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Outdoor Recreation Archive: Catalogs

USU Special Collections and Archives materials related to outdoor gear and outdoor recreation.

                Outdoor Recreation Catalogs and Magazines

Introduction

Utah State University (USU) Libraries’ Outdoor Recreation Catalogs collection represents an ongoing effort to collect these catalogs and other outdoor recreation publications. Within this guide you can browse and search records of more than 3,000 issues from 600 companies, including manufacturers like Lowe Alpine and Sierra Designs to retailers like Eastern Mountain Sports and REI.

There are two ways to search the Outdoor Recreation Catalogs collection: the inventory spreadsheet and the digital exhibit.

Inventory Spreadsheet

 

This inventory spreadsheet is the most up-to-date record of the collection. You can filter, search, and sort all catalogs in the collection by company name, title, and date.

If you want to come to Special Collections to view a specific catalog, you'll need the collection number (Book Collection 72 for all catalogs), the company number (located in the fourth column) and the date (located in the third column).

 

Digital Exhibit

 

In the digital exhibit, you can browse cover images of each catalog in the collection, organized by company name. However, because of the additional time required to digitize the covers and upload them to the website, the exhibit may not include the most recent additions to the collection.  

If you want to come to Special Collections to view a specific catalog, take note of the book collection number, company number, and date, located under the "source" heading on the item page.

Click here to visit the Outdoor Recreation Catalogs digital exhibit.