Outdoor Recreation Archive: Research Fellowship

Utah State University Special Collections and Archives is excited to announce a research fellowship to support academic and independent scholars engaged in scholarly writing, publications, media and art projects related to outdoor recreation and the outdoor industry. Topics related to sustainability, and those that increase representation of all perspectives in the outdoors are particularly encouraged.

Fellowship stipends are a maximum of $1,500 and are intended to offset the cost of visiting USU’s Merrill-Cazier Library in Logan, Utah to conduct on-site research in the Outdoor Recreation Archive. The research period may range from several days to several weeks depending on the project.

Please visit our collection page for more information about the Outdoor Recreation Archive and the materials it contains. Questions about the application process should be directed to Clint Pumphrey at clint.pumphrey@usu.edu or (435) 797-0891.

Deadlines: Applicants are invited for research visits between January 2025 and August 2025. The application deadline is December 1, 2024 and applicants will be notified of results by December 15, 2024.

Eligibility: Faculty, graduate students, and independent scholars who are interested in conducting primary source-based research at the Outdoor Recreation Archive are invited to apply.

Application: A complete application consists of three parts: the application form (see PDF download below), a project proposal, and a curriculum vitae. The project proposal is to include a general description or abstract of the research project, its title and format, and the applicant’s contact details. Applicants should also list specific material(s) they intend to consult during the desired dates of the fellowship. Successful applications will also explain how collections of the Outdoor Recreation Archive are essential to the successful completion of the research project. Complete applications (including all three parts) must be submitted as one PDF document and transmitted as an e-mail attachment to: clint.pumphrey@usu.edu.

Applicants may request funding up to the full amount of $1,500. The Selection Committee will determine the amount of the award based on a range of factors including the specific research topic, its relevance to the Outdoor Recreation Archive, the amount of time required to consult the materials, distance traveled, and need.

Highlander Podcast: Each fellow is required to complete an interview for the USU Outdoor Product Design and Development’s Highlander Podcast by the end of the award period. The topic of the interview will be the work they completed using the Outdoor Recreation Archive.

2022

Dr. Rachel Gross, Assistant Professor of History at Colorado University Denver

Project: Two articles, including “The Gender Politics of Do-It-Yourself: Frostline Kits and the American Outdoor Equipment Boom of the 1970s" and “Boxing in the Outdoors: Cabela’s, REI, and the Growth of Specialty Retailers”

Listen Rachel discuss her project on USU's Highlander podcast

Stine Danielle, candidate for Masters of Fine Arts, Photography, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Project: A multi-disciplinary art installation exploring the inclusion, participation, and representation of people of color outdoors

Listen Stine discuss her project on USU's Highlander podcast

2023

Katie Hargrave, Associate Professor of Art, University of Tennessee Chattanooga; and Meredith Lynn, Assistant Professor, Florida State University

Project: Art installation entitled “A straight line: history, design, and use”

Avery Trufelman, creator of Articles Of Interest, a podcast about what we wear

Project: A multi-part podcast series about outdoor fashion

2024

Nancy Zastudil, arts editor, writer, and curator, owner of the Necessarian, LLC

Project: A published article about the Road Runners Association of American's role in women's running

Martin Hogue, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies in the Department of Landscape Architecture at Cornell University

Project: A research project about pre-packaged camp food