Find Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate
This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary collection of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary loan to request a copy from another library.
- CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of in-depth and fact-checked reports on pressing domestic and international issues. Covers 1923-present.
Find Books & Background Info
- Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books available from USU Libraries, as well as videos and other materials.
- Encyclopedias & DictionariesGather background information from various general and specialized reference books, including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Tip:
Need a book we don't own?
Use interlibrary loan to request books, articles, and more from other libraries.
Find Government Information
Enter your search terms into the library catalog and use the Advanced Search to limit your Material Type to Government Document. For additional support, see Finding Government Information.
Open internet searching
There are lots of places to look for information. The kinds of information listed above are vetted - that is they are checked for quality before they are included in library databases or published by the government.
You can also find lots of information by searching on the internet, looking for websites, information pages, blog posts, tweets, or other social media. In addition to determining if something on the internet is relevant to your information need, when searching the internet, you must do extra quality check work to make sure sources are credible. Doing things like researching sources of information (companies, organizations, publishers, journals, and authors) can help you determine credibility.
Need Help?
Access & Troubleshooting
Help for Statewide Campus/Online Students
As a USU Statewide or Online student, you can access all of the library's databases, articles, and e-books from home or anywhere with Internet. To access library resources from the USU Libraries website, a research guide (like this!), or your Canvas course, you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. For more information on how to order physical books, get research help, and other time-saving tips, visit the Library Services for Statewide and Online Users website.
