Primary Sources
- American Constitution: A Documentary RecordFrom Yale's Avalon Project, a collection of primary documents that influenced the U.S. Constitution, also with the text of the Constitution, the ratifying documents, and the Federalist Papers.
- Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention"Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence." From the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress.
- American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and PublicationsThe Library of Congress provides this guide to digital resources related to the personal papers and/or publications of the major founders of the American Republic—that is, those men who served in roles of national political leadership between 1765 and 1815—and members of their families. Some official compilations of government documents are included for prominent founders.
- National Archives' Founders OnlineFrom the National Archives: "Correspondence and Other Writings of Six Major Shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects."
- Constitutional ConventionThis site details the Constitutional Convention with a daily timeline of events, major themes, Madison's Notes of Debates, and more.
- America's Founding DocumentsFrom the National Archives: information on the Constitution, Bill of Rights, and Declaration of Independence with additional information on the Founding Fathers and the Signers of the Declaration.
- Constitution of the United States: Charters of FreedomDownloadable images of the Constitution, a transcript, and links to more information.
- United States: The ConstitutionFrom the Law Library of Congress, full text links to for the Constitution, Spanish translation, and constitutional interpretation on: executive privilege, military tribunals, national security, whistleblowers, presidential inherent powers, presidential signing statements, second amendment, state secrets privilege, war initiation, war powers, and war powers resolution.
- Learn About the United States (U.S.) Constitution & MoreThe full text of many founding documents including the Constitution, Bill of Rights, and the Declaration of Independence. Secondary interpretation of the documents is also available.
- Federalist PapersFull text of the Federalist Papers. These 85 papers were written to advocate ratification of the Constitution and explain its meaning. Written anonymously, they are now known to have been written by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay. Printed versions are available in the library collection.
Setting the Scene
Scene at the Signing of the Constitution of the United States by Howard Chandler Christy
One enduring image from the signing of the Constitution is a painting by Howard Chandler Christy. This site offers an interactive look at the painting and information about its subjects.
FDLP Designation
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”
Hear the Constitution
- The Constitution of the United States AudiobookMore of a listening learner? Check out this recitation of the Constitution from Librivox.
Preamble to the Constitution
We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general welfare, and secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.
