Secondary Sources: Books
Use the Library Catalog to find books in the Merrill-Cazier Library. Subject headings help to make your search more precise. For example, enter the search term "united states constitution" or "constitutional convention" and choose to limit the search to Subject. Some selected works in USU collection include:
- America's Constitution by Akhil Reed AmarLink points to the library catalog. Call number: KF 4541 .A87 2005 (Merrill-Cazier Library, 3rd floor)
- The Summer of 1787 by David O. StewartLink points to the library catalog. Call number: KF 4510 .S74 2007 (Merrill-Cazier Library, 3rd floor)
- 1787 Drafting the U.S. Constitution edited by Wilbourn E. Benton.Link points to the library catalog. Call number: KF4510 .A135 1986 (2 volumes) (Merrill-Cazier Library, 3rd floor)
- The Records of the Federal Convention edited by Max FarrandLink points to the library catalog. Call number: KF4510 .U547 1966 (Merrill-Cazier Library, 3rd floor)
Secondary Sources: Journals & Articles
The Merrill-Cazier Library subscribes to databases that provide access to published articles and electronic documents. Here some databases that you can search for information on the U.S. Constitution, the time period in which it was written, and its implications:
America: History & Life - This database covers U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.
HathiTrust - This database contains a growing digital repository of millions of public domain & copyright-protected volumes. Items that are in the public domain are freely available for viewing and downloading. Many older government documents are accessible in this collection.
HeinOnline - This database provides the full text of all Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Statutes at Large (all public and private laws), treaties and agreements, Presidential documents, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
JSTOR - This database provides access to articles across many disciplines including the social sciences and humanities.
WorldCat - This database is very useful for locating historic government documents, and many records include SuDoc numbers, the call numbers used for government publications at the library. Note the SuDoc number in the catalog record & visit the Government Information department for help locating specific items.
For additional tips on how to find full text articles, see the Finding the Full Text of Articles Libguide.
Questions?
FDLP Designation
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”
