Licensed Databases for Communicative Disorders & Audiology
-
CINAHL CompleteNursing, allied, and consumer health research article database can be found within the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.
-
PsycINFO via EBSCOhostOne of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
-
PubMedA free resource from the US National Library of Medicine and a key resource for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
-
ERIC by ProQuestIndex to educational-related literature. Offers over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers and books.
Tip:
Medline vs. PubMed
Medline is a subset of the publicly available Pubmed database. Medline contains articles from a set of carefully reviewed publications.
-
More Databases in COMDSee a detailed list of other databases that might be useful to research in COMD.
-
Articles & DatabasesCheck out USU Libraries articles and databases page to quickly search for a database, or check out databases by subject!
Resources Available after you Graduate
-
Google ScholarMultidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Tip:
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
-
Research GateResearch Gate, a for-profit organization can provide access and opportunities to "follow" and receive alerts on journals and researchers.
-
OSF (Open Science Framework)Access and provide access to a range of documents of research, including those in progress. Accounts are open source.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open-access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open-access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality-control system to guarantee the content.
-
Getting Started with ORCIDLearn about signing up for ORCID to link your identity across your research and access other research using ORCID identifiers.
Citation Organizers
There are a variety of citation organizers out there to use, including open soucrce, fee-based, and access linked to USU licenses (for-profit). See below for information on Zotero, supported by USU Libraries. Zotero provides access to your library and all your articles after you graduate.
-
Zotero Citation Manager Citation organizers (or reference managers) store and organize citation information. USU Libraries supports Zotero, an easy to use, free, open-source citation management program
Need Help?
Presentation in Class
-
PowerPoint SlidesView the presentation given in class on January 13, 2025
