Key Databases
You might be familiar with a database called Academic Search Ultimate from other classes, but there are a few specialized databases I recommend for finding articles for EDUC 6040.
- PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
One of the top resources for research in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Includes information on topics ranging from education to pharmacology.
Tip:
Need the PDF/full-text?
Use Article Linker to search for full-text across all databases. If the article isn't available, choose Request via ILLiad or use interlibrary services to request a copy from another library.
- MEDLINEplusConsumer medical information from the National Library of Medicine including preformulated MEDLINE searches; links to websites, documents, handouts, pamphlets, organizations, etc.; articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries.
More places to search
PsycINFO might not give you the whole picture when it comes to investigating your topic. Consider searching one or more of these additional databases to expand your search.
- View Databases by SubjectSee subject areas under heading, "College of Education and Human Services" in the left-hand column.
- Psychology DatabasePsychology Database offers abstracts and indexes of more than 640 titles, 540 of them full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage covers the topics of social, industrial, experimental, evolutionary, cognitive, clinical, and situational psychology, as well as personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.
- Education Source
- This link opens in a new window
A large, online digital library focused on a broad range of educational topics in scholarly articles, news, magazines and trade journals. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of business information, including articles from scholarly, business and trade publications, SWOT analyses, and book chapters. - Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseA full text, scholarly database on health and medicine
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly search engine. Covers peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Includes links to USU resources when on campus.
Tip:
Using Google Scholar?
Sync your Google account with USU. This will get you past paywalls for articles USU subscribes to by having you login with your A# and password.
Reading strategies
Tip:
Need strategies for reading academic journal articles?
Use this reading guide from the library to help you understand the major sections of academic articles and develop strategies for quickly understanding them. Or check out the handout linked below for more details.
- How to read a social science journal article
This guide (Laubepin/ICPSR 2013) breaks down the parts of a social science journal article, suggests reading strategies, and reviews where to find specific information within an article.
