Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a reference management program that stores and organizes citation information for a variety of research resources for representation in a variety of citation styles.
The USU Libraries currently provides support for the citation manager, Zotero. This guide remains available as an archived resource to supplement EndNote's customer service and technical support.
EndNote can capture citation information for many information sources, including:
- Journal articles
- Books and book chapters
- Audiovisual materials
- Legal cases
- Conference papers
- Newspaper articles
- And more!
EndNote supports all major citation styles, plus many specialized styles. Additional features include:
- Direct database searching and citation import
- PDF attachment and annotation
- Labels, keywords, groups, and classes for organizing your library
- "Find Full Text" feature
- Easy bibliography building
- "Cite While You Write" integration with Word
EndNote's website provides training materials and technical support via chat, phone, and email.
Web vs. Desktop versions
EndNote comes in two versions:
- EndNote Basic is the free, web-based version of the program. It allows you to store 50,000 references in the cloud and provides 2 GB of PDF attachment storage. 21 citation styles are available, and you can download a plugin to use your library in Word ("Cite While You Write"). Sign up at myendnoteweb.com.
- EndNote Desktop provides complete access to the program's features and will sync across multiple computers and to your EndNote Web account. "Cite While You Write" is included. Storage space is unlimited and there are over 6,000 available citation styles. The desktop version allows you to annotate PDFs directly within the program. You can also share your library and customize your own citation styles. There is a student discount, which makes EndNote about $120. You can try out a free 30 day trial before deciding to purchase.
Scroll down on this product description page for a detailed comparison chart.
EndNote Overview handout
This handout summarizes EndNote Basic and EndNote web and includes a comparison chart and helpful links.
Quick start videos
The following videos from Clarivate Analytics (the producer of EndNote) will help you get started with the desktop version of EndNote X9 as a Mac or PC user.