Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Cite While You Write

Installing Cite While You Write (CWYW) in Word

EndNote Desktop:

Cite While You Write (CWYW) is automatically installed as a Word plugin when you purchase and install the software.

EndNote Basic (Web):

Get the free CWYW Word plugin by logging into your account, clicking the Downloads tab, and downloading the Mac or Windows version.

Downloads tab of EndNote Basic showing CWYW plugin

For more help, check out these CWYW plugin tutorials for Mac or for Windows.

Using CWYW in Word

To use CWYW in Word:

  1. Navigate to the EndNote toolbar. If you are using EndNote Basic (Web), you will be prompted to log into your account.
  2. Select your citation style.
  3. Select Insert Citation, and use the search bar to search by author, title, keyword, etc.
  4. From the Insert menu, select your desired citation display. The default includes author(s) and year, but there are options to exclude citation elements.

    EndNote Word toolbar, style selection, and insert citation menu
     
  5. In addition to placing an in-text citation, EndNote will begin a linked references section at the bottom of your document.
  6. If you prefer, you can add citations manually while writing. Simply enter the citation within curly brackets in {Author Year} format, e.g. {Drabinski 2013}. When you are ready to link references, select Bibliography -- Update Citations and Bibliography.
    Update citations and bibliography menu

 

FAQs:

  • To cite multiple sources within a single parenthetical reference, use control or command to highlight multiple references within the Insert Citation menu.
  • To delete a reference, do not simply delete it from the text or the references list at the bottom of the document. Instead, click Edit & Manage Citations, and select Remove citation from the gear drop-down menu.
    Remove citation menu
  • To add page number(s) to a reference, click Edit & Manage Citations, select the reference, and add page numbers.
  • To format the references list at the bottom of the document, select Bibliography -- Configure bibliography. Select the Layout tab to set font, size, bibliography title, hanging indent, and spacing.
  • To convert your document to plain text and remove EndNote reference links, select Tools -- Convert to plain text.

For more assistance, search EndNote's YouTube channel for training videos appropriate to your operating system.

Using CWYW with Google Docs

To use CWYW with Google Docs, you must have EndNote Desktop.

  1. Drag and drop a citation from EndNote Desktop into the Google Doc. You will see a placeholder citation appear:

    Placeholder citation in Google Docs
     
  2. If you have Word, download the Google Doc as a Word document, then click Bibliography -- Update Citations and Bibliography to format.
     
  3. If you don't have Word, download the Google Doc as an .rtf file (Rich Text File).
    In EndNote Desktop, go to Tools -- Format Paper and select the downloaded file.

    Format paper menu

    EndNote will create a new .rtf file with the references and reference list formatted appropriately.

Librarian

Need Quick Help?

Chat with a Librarian: